Where do characters come from?

Question # 5

Do you base your characters on people you know?

Answer

Sometimes I will use the names of people I know, but that doesn’t always mean that I use their characteristics and personalities, as well. Often, I will take a trait from several people and fuse them into one character, but I try not to use any family or friends’ names for any of my ‘evil’ or nasty characters. In the case of ‘Elizabeth’ in Withershins, I do know several women with that name, but I only used the name because it was popular at the time, not because I know an Elizabeth who was a bully. All the Elizabeths I know are lovely, adventurous women and I sincerely hope none of them are offended because I used their name for my character.

 

Leave a Reply

