Research/Editing

How nice to have a few hours to sit down and work on my third book! I reviewed some of the notes I had on the time period, then went back to what I had written. I tweaked some of the descriptions to better fit the setting and contemplated the next step in the story as well as some of the things I wanted to include that would subtly educate the young reader.

Old photographs are so inspiring. I am very much a visual learner so it really helps that my grandfather collected a lot of historical artwork and that there is also so much available in books and on-line, like the photo below. I only hope my words can bring my readers back to that time and make them feel immersed in our history.

Upper Fort Garry with Red River Expeditionary Force at drill, 1870. Source: Archives of Manitoba

Leave a Reply

