Close To My Heart

I’ll bet the title for today’s post made you think about Valentine’s Day, didn’t it? Fooled you! Today, I want to talk about scrapbook layouts and the company that I’ve been supporting to do my layouts is . . . Close To My Heart. While Stampin’ Up seems to cater more to card-makers, CTMH caters more to those die-hard scrapbook makers who take the time to make their photo albums works of art.

Magic

One of the reasons I haven’t posted anything over the past couple of days is on Wednesday I went to my sister-in-law’s place (45 minutes out-of-town) to pick up the workshop packages I missed when I was sick. She showed me how to make four of the six pages they’d made those two days. (I will post pictures on my new page My Scrapbook Layouts. You might even get to see a shot or two of my grandson!) The thing I love about my CTMH Representative is her creativity. Colette Dunlop can take the ordinary page and make it super-special by adding unique elements like photo ‘waterfalls’, memento envelopes, slide-outs for photos & journaling and fold-out sections to add interest to the page. A lot of these moving elements can be found in the book Magic, by Jeanette R. Lynton. As you can see in the photo, there is a foldout segment that can hold more photos than just a standard photo page. The most interesting of these elements is the ‘waterfall’ that I mentioned earlier. Pull on the edge and the pictures unfold, much like a waterfall. Very cool! There is also another pull-out that I like. Pull on one edge to reveal two pictures, one from each side.

Another reason I didn’t get a chance to post anything yesterday is I was so exhausted from my ‘rampage’. Even though we took it pretty easy since my bronchitis doesn’t seem to be entirely cured, yet, it was a pretty full day – breakfast at Sal’s, a saunter through the mall where the Children’s Hospital was holding its spring used book sale, a stop at the new Scrapbook Cottage and finally cheesecake before heading home. While that may not seem like too stressful a day – which it wasn’t – it just took a lot of me, physically. On the bright side, I have a new series of books to read: The People series by Kathleen O’Neal Gear & W. Michael Gear. Has anyone else read them? They look like they will be similar to Jean Auel’s Clan of the Cave Bear series. I also picked up James Clavell’s Whirlwind, sequel to Noble House. I loved his other Asian saga books, including Shogun and Tai Pan. That should keep me busy for awhile (once I finish reading Kathy Reich’s book Spider Bones). Each of my ‘new’ books must be three inches thick! Well, I guess that’s it for now. I will hurry and post my scrapbook pages on my new page for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

