Changes

A friend who has been blogging for longer than I have gave me some gentle hints about some changes she thought I should make. One of the suggestions was to put up a less depressing Gravatar picture. She thought the picture of the crypt might scare away many of my younger readers and creep out some of the older ones! The problem is, I can’t decide what photo I should use instead. Perhaps some of you could help me with that decision. Here are my choices:

Number 1 – a Klingon and me, taken at The Star Trek Experience in Las Vegas in 2004. This is the picture I used when I started my Blogpost last year and the blog identity I have to use when commenting on some of the Blogpost sites, since my WordPress ID doesn’t always work. It might be good to have a consistent picture for both sites. Do you agree?

 

Number 2 – a portion of the cover from my second book ‘Spirit Quest’. I think that Relish Design Studios did a wonderful job on the cover and thought it might be a good idea to show it off.

 

Number 3 – I was going through some old pictures, wondering if there were any that I could use and found a couple if interesting ones First, there was this picture of me when I was about 3 taken at Halloween. Great disguise, don’t you think?

 

Number 4 – Or maybe this one of me at around age 5 suits me better! lol

 

 

 

Number 5 is a picture of one of the bells from the St. Boniface Cathedral, which figures strongly in my next book. Perhaps this would be more appropriate than the sarcophagus containing the remains of Archbishop Cochrane, who rescued Michelle in the first book.

 

 

Number 6 – and finally, the cutest of all, in my opinion, is this pic of my grandson taken last weekend. Mind you, I’m not so sure I should plaster his face all over the internet, but for those who are visiting my blog, it is a rare treat for you!

So, of the first five pictures I have posted, which do you think would make the best Gravatar picture to replace the creepy old crypt? I will make my decision on Friday, I think.

 

One change that I have already made is I added an email address to my About page. I should have done this from the beginning so that people can contact me directly, especially if they are too shy to have their comments posted publicly or their comments are too personal for others to read. One of my readers recently pointed this out to me, as well as my friend, so I replied to her comment and added the email address into the REPLY on the About page.

Well, I think that’s about it for now. I look forward to reading your comments. 🙂

26 comments on “Changes

  1. The Klingon picture is what made me click! However, I’m a bit biased from a being a huge Star Trek geek. 🙂

    p.s. I’m super jealous you got to go to the Star Trek experience! How fun!!!

    • It WAS a lot of fun! Too bad it isn’t at the Hilton anymore. I heard it was being relocated but I don’t know if they finished it, yet, or where it will be. Thanks for the input! 🙂

  2. I think #2 is most appropriate. It’s a compelling picture, suggests you write for a younger audience, and it’s the cover for your second book, so it’ll be cool product placement as well!

  3. Although he is cuter than the cutest thing I would be very hesitant to use a photograph of your adorable little grandson – I have made the decision to avoid using pictures of Ollie and Charlie because a) when all is said and done it is their likeness and they are not really old enough to give informed consent and b) it’s a funny world and I am a bit paranoid about the internet and children.

    I actually love your current Avatar! sorry but I share your fascination with graves and tombs. Of the ones that you have posted the bell is my favourite.

    hope this is of some help
    Diane

    • Thanks for your comments, Diane. You’re definitely right about using my grandson’s photo. That’s why I had crossed off the number. I just wanted to share it with those who visit. I don’t often like to put pictures of people I know on my Facebook page but every now and then there is a photo I come across that seems to beg me to share. This was one of them. I’m glad you like my current Avatar and I like the bell, too. 🙂

  4. #2 of those posted, but I have to say, I don’t think the crypt is a no-clicker itself. Do you write dark stories? I would think the crypt would be a better reflector of that. But if you do want to change, yeah, go with part of your book cover.

    • Thanks for commenting, Traci. I don’t normally write dark stories. Even my ghost stories are fairly light. The fact that it is the final resting place of one of the real-life characters in my books was the motivation for using it in the first place. Actually, #2 seems to be getting the most attention, so that’s probably what I’ll use.

  5. Your grandson is adorable.
    I’m very partial to trees, however, so I vote for the portion of your cover.
    And I absolutely love your header. Beautiful site!
    I’m from the campaign trails. Great to meet you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

