Tagged, again, among other things

As you may have noticed, I have changed my Gravatar, the picture that appears in reference to my blog. That is my first order of business for today. I want to thank all those who responded to my post Changes where I asked which picture I should choose for my new Gravatar. Of those 12, only 3 suggested something other than the girl and the tree, the portion of book cover from Spirit Quest, so the ‘tree-huggers’ won! Personally, I think it works best as a Gravatar, not only because it represents my work but also because it has great contrast so it shows up well as such a small symbol. My thanks to Relish Design Studios, who created the image.

On to the next order of business. I have been tagged again. Isn’t this a fun game? K S Collier was my tagger, in case you want to learn more about her by checking out her blog. These are the questions she posed to me and my answers:

1.  What do you write, fiction or nonfiction? Fiction

2.  What are your favorite sweets? Chocolate, the darker the better. Adding nuts or caramel makes it better still.

3.  How often do you write? Before I re-entered the work place, I wrote every day, usually first thing in the morning when the ideas are fresh in my mind. Lately, it’s whenever I get the chance, which isn’t as often as I’d like.

4.  Do you write by outlining first, or by the seat of your pants? Seat of my pants has worked pretty well so far. There have been a few pieces that have involved more detailed planning.

5.  Do you use foreshadowing to strengthen your plotline? Most definitely!

6.  Who is your favorite author? That depends on the genre: SciFi/fantasy – Anne McCaffrey; Adventure – Clive Cussler; Forensic murder mysteries – Kathy Reichs, Mystery with a dash of humour – Karen Dudley; Historical fiction – James Clavell; Historical Romance; Diana Gabaldon; YA Fiction – Anita Daher (she was also my editor for Spirit Quest)

7.  What is your favorite movie or movie series? It’s a toss-up between the Narnia Chronicles and Lord of the Rings

8.  What genre do you write? I’ve dabbled in just about every genre except for horror. My most successful work has been YA fiction.

9.  Name your future pet, and describe them? Once our beloved kitty (a Polydactyl Tuxedo Cat with a milk moustache) passes beyond the veil, I doubt we’ll get another pet. Hubby & I would like to travel when we retire and it wouldn’t be fair on a pet to leave them so much.

10.  What is your all time favorite character, whether your own or someone else’s? Probably Aslan from Narnia

11.  Do you have a stuffed animal in your possession, if so, what type? Just before my first book came out, I found a life-size snowy owl puppet that is stuffed to look like a real one with the head that turns and wings that flap. I used it while reading the spooky graveyard scene and popped it up from behind the podium when the owl in my story hooted. I made everyone jump! I also have a stuffed bear that a friend sent me for my first book launch, a representation of one of my characters, Bear. Whenever I speak to younger audiences, I bring them both along with me as props.

Now is the time when I ‘tag’ other bloggers and ask them some questions.

I tried to choose people who haven’t been tagged in a while so I hope they will participate. These are the blogs/bloggers I will tag in case you’d like to check out their answers:

Barbara’s Meanderings

David Powers King

Paper Mountain

Sheery’s Place

Jocelyn Rish

Minivan Momma

Sherri

And here are the questions I hope they will answer:

1. What is the name of the book you are currently reading?

2. What type of music do you prefer. Favourite song?

3. If you could go anywhere in this world or a fictitious one, where would you go?

4. Do you currently have any pets?

5. When do you usually set aside time to write?

6. What is the most interesting way in which you (or some other author) has killed off a character?

7. Have you ever written a piece of fan fiction? If so, for which show/movie?

8. Do you have a specific place in which you do most of your writing?

9. What is your favourite meal?

10. Do you have any non-writing hobbies?

11. If you had a time machine, when would you go?

My last thing to say today is, I have added the first three chapters of my story Revolution to My Unfinished Work page, if you’d like to read more of the story for which I wrote my Flash Fiction piece.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

7 comments on “Tagged, again, among other things

Leave a Reply

