Playing catch-up

It was very exciting last week reading all the flash fiction that the participants of Rachel’s Platform-Building Campaign Challenge and responding to the comments about my own piece. However, that has interfered with me keeping up with all the blogs I have been following so, over the past couple of days, I have been playing catch-up with all of those bloggers. My apologies if you’ve been wondering why I am just commenting on your posts now. There are still a few of the 200 stories that I haven’t had the chance to read yet, so that’s next on my list of things to do.

Thank-you to all who have voted and left such lovely comments about my flash fiction piece. It has been short-listed, which is great!

Today, I took a brief break to console a friend who has been having a rough week and a half. We were able to stop in at Tim’s for coffee/hot chocolate and a treat, then stopped in at Chapters so she could get a magazine for her Dad, who’s in the hospital. Shopping, especially with a friend, can be so cathartic. Sometimes it is necessary to take a break from the hectic life we lead, to get away from our troubles for awhile and vent to someone with a sympathetic ear. I hope my friend is able to breathe a bit better now and that some of the stress from the past little while can roll off her shoulders.

Back to the Challenge to read more flash fiction…

 

8 comments on “Playing catch-up

  1. Sending good wishes for your friend in trouble. Slow down – you can only do what you can do and if you let it become a chore you lose such a precious thing – enjoyment

    • Thanks Diane! Now that I have a little time to go back and read the flash fiction, it will be enjoyable. I’ve actually had a really good time reading them. They’ve all been so different and interesting with a few themes running through them but all-in-all, they’re all unique. It’s nice to read the work of such talented folks!

  2. I was surprised at the number of entries, not to mention the extremely high quality! I’ve been trying to work my way through as well. Sadly as with my writing, the rest of life keeps getting in the way! 😉

  3. No problem on the catch up, I’m doing so myself as well. I’m only on 150 of the entries and going to try and knock of another 25 today. I figure if I do 25 a day, I’ll have time to do other things too, plus it’s easier on me right now.

Leave a Reply

