These Old Eyes

I can’t wait to get my new glasses! I had been wondering why my eyes have been so tired lately. Apparently, the reading portion of my bifocals is not strong enough any more and I need a new prescription. There has been so much I’ve wanted to read but have only been able to do so for about an hour or so before it becomes either too painful, or these old eyes just start sliding closed through no fault of the reading material. This has been very frustrating.

The past couple of weeks, I have been trying to keep up with all the wonderful blogs I follow and reading the extraordinary flash fiction of Rachel’s Platform-Building Challenge. It has become increasingly difficult because of my tired eyes. Working in schools with florescent lighting doesn’t help much either! I’ve also been reading a great book that I want to review.

Tilly Greenway and the Secrets of the Ancient Keys: Watchers Book One

That book is Watchers, Book I of the Tilly Greenway & the Secrets of the Ancient Keys series by Essi Tolling. It is a real page turner but my weakening eyes have forced me to put it down far too often. I am about a quarter of the way through it and have been completely entranced by Tilly’s world. At one point there was a reference to walking “thrice around King Arthur’s Stone . . . Against the sun”. I had to smile as this action of walking against the sun, or counter-clockwise, is referred to as the Withershins, exactly what the characters in my books have done – with quite different results, of course! When he described “The whole of London was suddenly on red-alert…” I got a chill down my spine. Later, Tilly and her brother and a character called Ambrose are “about to set out on a quest . . . A quest to save the world!” I can’t wait to read more about Tilly’s adventures! When I am done, I will give you a complete review. In the meantime, I have a date with my chilled Lavender-scented eye pillow.

Catch you all later! 🙂

7 comments on “These Old Eyes

  1. A nice cool flannel or wash cloth helps as well but you get yourself your new glasses, my mum is now losing her vision and it has made me very determined to care for my eyes as much as I can.

    • Yes, Diane, they should be ready next week. My Grandmother started getting cataracts at around age 80 but never had the surgery before she died, which I think was a shame. I hope that doesn’t happen to me, but at least there are easier ways of removing cataracts and repairing damage to eyes, these days. 🙂

    • Thank you for the award, C. B. It might take awhile to think of all those words to describe me. It’s already late, so I will sleep on it and blog about it in the morning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

