Crafty Wednesday

Here we are again, another Wednesday, and I have a few more cards to show you. A couple were inspired by a quote I found on C. B. Wentworth‘s site. She had made another journal page using a quote by George Moore: “A man travels the world to find what he needs and finds it when he gets home.” I thought it would make a great saying for my masculine birthday cards, so she challenged me to use it. Here are the results:

For this card, front and inside, I used the Stampin’ Up set Open Sea. I used copper embossing powder to brighten up the compass and anchor. I used my Crop A Dile (the link will send you to a demo of the device, if you’re interested) to attach the copper eyelets through which I threaded the twine.

Before I started crafting my cards using embellishments, I used a program called Printmaster Gold, the original version. It only works on Windows 95 or XP, but I love the graphics of this program and it is so easy to use, better than subsequent versions. (I bought the Platinum version that works on my MAC but don’t like it nearly as much) I often print some of the pictures onto card stock, cut them out and use them on my cards. I used the scroll graphic from the program for the quote and the greeting inside this card and the other style, below.

For this card, I used Stampin’ Up’s Plane and Simple stamp set. After stamping the plane, compass and goggles with black ink, I added a bit of colour with my shiny paints, using the white for the goggle lenses and over the compass to give it a bit of sheen and the silvery grey paint for around the lenses. I also used a brown cream chalk to brush over the plane and goggle straps. I have some old wallpaper books, one of which has some great map prints which I used, here. You can also buy designer paper with a similar look. At Walmart, I found an inexpensive bag of assorted buttons, three of which I thought would add a finishing touch to the inside of this card. Again, I used my Printmaster Gold program for the scrolls.

Here’s another card I made recently for a little girl. I embossed the front of the card using my Cuttlebug and the Happy Birthday embossing folder. The little girl on the front was a made with a stamp I borrowed from my sister-in-law, so I am not sure what its name is or what type of stamp it is. She also had a little boy stamp, which I haven’t used yet, but you will most likely see it on another card I’ll make in the near future. I used black embossing powder to make the girl’s outline stand out and added colour with my shiny paint set. The black-embossed ‘b is for birthday’, the cupcake and the candle came in the SU set called Party Hearty. The presents stamp was from a bargain set of clear acrylic birthday stamps I picked up at Michael’s. I stamped each box with a different colour chalk ink pad and outlined the boxes in gel pen colours. The sentiment was one I created using MS Word and printed onto white card stock. The ribbon was one of the bargains I picked up at the scrapbook weekend a couple of weeks ago, put on by the owner of The Scrapbook Cottage.

This card is intended for one of the grown-up ladies on my list. The holes for the stitching were made with a roller punch to make sure the holes were equidistance apart. I used a coral-coloured embroidery floss to stitch in and out, then tied a bow through the two centre holes. I used the ‘Anywhere’ Scalloped Square Punch by Martha Stewart Crafts to punch out the centre piece so the Happy Birthday could show through. The 8 scalloped squares were made with the Stampin’ Up Postage Stamp punch. The SU Boho Blossoms Punch cut out the flower shapes, while the Five Petal Flower punch did the leaf shapes. I cut the flower petals out to make the leaves and attached them with glue runner tape. The buttons were attached with Glue Dots. The Happy Birthday was embossed with black embossing powder onto a 2″ scalloped circle cut out with a SU punch. I glitter-embossed the flowers inside the card using the Boho Blossoms stamp from SU’s Language of Friendship stamp set. The sentiment, “May all your wishes come true” was created using a bargain-bin stamp from Michael’s.

Well, I think that about covers it, for now. Hope this might get YOUR creative juices flowing. Now, I have to pack up a few things for my Scrapbooking class. Next week, I’ll show you the pages I make tonight. What have YOU crafted lately?

7 comments on “Crafty Wednesday

Leave a Reply

