Crafty Wednesday

Sorry I haven’t posted anything for a couple of days. I have been working on the cards I need to give out at Easter. I still have about a dozen left to make, but I thought I would share a few with you. The ones that are specifically for anniversaries, a wedding and a particular numbered birthday would be too easy to identify, so I will wait until after they have been given to show them off.

These two are obviously for young children. With kids cards, I always like to show a bit of humour as you can see (click on the images to enlarge it). For the first one, I used stamps from the Close To My Heart set, By The Sea. The turtle is from the Footloose Workshop-On-The-Go by CTMH, as is the sand dollar.

For the second, I used stickers and the little boy stamp borrowed from my sister-in-law. The background is a wallpaper sample that resembles birchbark.

This lady’s card incorporates a butterfly from Martha Stewart’s Butterfly stamp set that I stamped onto orange paper and added a bit of glitter. The striped ribbon was one of the deals I got at my autumn scrapbook weekend. The buttons were part of a bargain bag I picked up at Walmart that seemed to go with the colours of the background. Inside, I used a bargain bin stamp which I painted with glitter paint.

For this lady’s card, I stamped the roses with stamps from CTMH’s Roxie set and cut them out. The buttons were from the bargain bag. The sentiment was one I wrote out using MS Word. Inside I added a couple of paper flowers, attached with small flower brads and stamped with the Happy Birthday from a bargain set of clear acrylic stamps.

For one of the musicians in the family, I call this card Groovy! The guitar player is one of the clip art designs from my Printmaster Gold program. I added three star brads to the 2 1/2″ scalloped circle, stamped stars with a Versa stamp pad, then used silver and gold embossing powder. The musical notes and ‘groovy’ stamps are from the CTMH Melody set. The ‘Party like a rock star’ is a bargain stamp from Michael’s, as is the Happy Birthday. The keyboard is made with my Cuttlebug and the keyboard embossing folder. I used a black Sharpie to fill in the black keys.

Well, that’s it for tonight. Happy crafting everyone!

12 comments on “Crafty Wednesday

  1. Your friends and relatives are so very fortunate, I think if I had made these I would be loathe to send them on their way, then again giving is a huge part of the pleasure isn’t it?

  2. Your cards are always beautiful, I can’t wait for my birthday to see what you create for me, it is always something I look forward to.
    Just wondering who the musician is???

    • Thank you! It sometimes takes a few minutes to find the inspiration for a card – what colour paper to start with, what contrast I should use, which stamp set would be most appropriate for the person I’m designing it for and finally, which embellishments would look best. It can be a complicated process, sometimes!

    • Glad you like it, Christy. Other people have asked me the same question. I have such a HUGE circle of friends and family, making cards just for them is almost a full-time job! I don’t think I’d have time to work, write, make cards for them AND make cards for others. But I appreciate the compliment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

