More Sunshine

I love the blogging community! You have been such a warm, welcoming bunch of people. You aren’t afraid to pay other bloggers a compliment and your posts are so interesting. I’ve met so many wonderful new people from around the world, it has been quite exciting. One of those special people is Amanda from Storyteller In The Digital Age. She has been kind enough to bestow on me the Sunshine Award. Thanks you so much Amanda! I love reading what she has to say and if you haven’t been around to her blog, yet, you really should head over there (as soon as you’ve read mine! lol)

Here is the pretty Award:

Since I answered all the questions only recently (you can read them here) I will do something a little differently but still Sunshine-related. I will ‘recite’ a poem by Robert Louis Stevenson entitled Summer Sun. I know it’s not summer yet, but it talks about the sun. I also want to thank Christy Birmingham at Poetic Parfait for making me think about shadows the other day. Her poem Playing With Shadows reminded me of Stevenson’s A Child’s Garden of Verses, a book I received from my great-aunt as a child and in which had the poem My Shadow. The book was still sitting on the table beside me so I thumbed through the index and found this sunny poem. Here it goes:

SUMMER SUN

Great is the sun, and wide he goes

Through empty heaven without repose;

And in the blue and glowing days

More thick than rain he showers his rays.

 

Though closer still the blinds we pull

To keep the shady parlour cool,

Yet he will find a chink or two

To slip his golden fingers through.

 

The dusty attic spider-clad

He, through the keyhole, maketh glad;

And through the broken edge of tiles,

Into the laddered hayloft smiles.

 

Meantime his golden face around

He bares to all the garden ground,

And sheds a warm and glittering look

Among the ivy’s inmost nook.

 

Above the hills, along the blue,

Round the bright air with footing true,

To please the child, to paint the rose,

The gardener of the World, he goes.

 

I hope you liked it. As it turns out, today kicks off Poetry Writing Month.

I heard about it from wantoncreation who has already put out his first poem. If you would like to read it, click here. If anyone else is interested in the poetry writing challenge, head over here for the details.

 

Instead of actually writing poetry, which I am really terrible at, I thought I might add some poetry to my posts, this month. I doubt I will do this every day, maybe just on Sundays. I’ll pick out some of my favourites, or direct you to other sites with great poetry.

The final rule in accepting the Sunshine award is to pass it along to other deserving blogs. I think ALL the blogs I follow are deserving of the award. If I listed them all, that would take up a lot of space in this post and trying to pick only 10 is hard. I don’t want to leave anyone out! So, if any of you would like the honour of receiving this prestigious award, please let me know and I will direct people to your blog. 🙂

Since I have thanked the person who gave me the award (Thanks again, Amanda!) posted the picture of the award, did the Sunshine thing and nominated every other blogger I know for the award (You are all so great, I couldn’t pick just 10) that concludes todays post. Hope you all had a restful weekend. 🙂

9 comments on “More Sunshine

  1. Awe thanks my friend for the lovely mention! How nice that I helped play a role in your blog post today 🙂 Here we have a dark rainy morning but I hope the sunshine shows its face later on! Congrats on the award, keep up the great work!

  2. Beautiful day here, barbecue and wine and remembering one of my most favourite of all poems. I am not really a religious person but this touches my heart.

    When Fishes Flew

    When fishes flew and forests walked
    And figs grew upon thorn
    Some moment when the moon was blood
    Then surely I was born.

    With monstrous head and sickening cry
    And ears like errant wings
    The devil’s walking parody
    On all four-footed things.

    The tattered outlaw of the earth.
    Of ancient crooked will;
    Starve, scourge, deride me: I am dumb
    I keep my secret still.

    Fools! For I also had my hour;
    One far fierce hour and sweet:
    There was a shout about my ears,
    And palms before my feet.

  3. Congratulations on the award!

    I love A Child’s Garden of Verses. We have the CD of the poems set to music, and it’s wonderful to listen to.

Leave a Reply

