In-laws

I know many people who do not get along with their in-laws. Some feel like they have never been accepted into the family. Others feel absolute hatred towards them! I feel so sorry for those people. I have been very lucky and this past weekend just goes to prove how wonderful my in-laws are.

I have spent the past few days with one set of in-laws or another. Friday, I was at my brother’s place where his wife put on a lovely brunch to celebrate my birthday, my daughter’s birthday, my son-in-law’s birthday and her daughter-in-law’s birthday, which all happen in March & April. This was the first chance we’d had to get together for the birthdays and since it was the Easter weekend, we worked that into our celebration as well. My sister-in-law organized an egg hunt for the young adults, hiding plastic eggs around their large yard. The eggs contained the usual assortment of chocolate as well as appropriate scriptures. You’d think the ‘kids’ would be too old to partake in such a game, but they really seemed to enjoy the exercise – and we were fortunate to have excellent weather. Being a crafty girl herself, my sister-in-law made such lovely cards for all of us and knew the perfect gift to get me was a Cuttlebug die-cutter that creates a bird and birdcage (bottom right) by Tim Holtz.

Caged Bird Bigz Alterations DieMachine

She gave her daughter-in-law a new Cuttlebug (left, above) because she knows the girl likes to create cards, too. My brother’s wife is a thoughtful, caring, creative woman.

Saturday, my niece was married. Her mother, my hubby’s sister, planned the whole event in a very short time. With the help of her eldest sister, she created beautiful black and white silk panels to hang on the walls to present a beautiful background. She made the party favours, decorated the table centers, and a million other things to make her daughter’s wedding simply perfect. When my daughter was married a year and a half ago, I was a little frazzled because certain things were forgotten or not going exactly as planned. She stepped in and organized her family to help set-up, tend bar, and help with the clean-up. I don’t think I could have made it through the day without her.

Today, Sunday, we had a gathering of my hubby’s family. His brother works in a school and is allowed to give us access to the gym for our very large family, which works out perfectly. Everyone usually pitches in and provides a pot-luck for this kind of a gathering. This time, since there was so much left of the wedding food, hubby’s sister brought it all to the gathering so we didn’t have to bring nearly as much stuff as we would have, otherwise. From the first moment I met his family, they have welcomed me into their hearts. They all feel like my own brothers, sisters and parents. I am very thankful for each and every one of them.

I might add, two of them are very crafty, too, as I may have mentioned during my posts on card-making and scrap booking. They are always willing to share whatever craft tools I might want to borrow.

Well, it is getting late and it has been a busy weekend. Hope everyone was able to enjoy their families as much as I have!

 

10 comments on “In-laws

  1. Your various in-laws really are all lovely people. Sounds like the wedding was lovely. I had two busy days with my kids and grand-kids. Tomorrow I need to take it easy – good thing there is lots of left over ham so no cooking.

    • Hi, Linda! Welcome to WordPress! Glad you won’t have to cook today and that you got to see your grandkids. Did you see my daughter’s FB video of my grandson with the Easter eggs? Funny boy!

      Yes, the wedding was lovely. Mother-of-the-bride had everything so well organized. The colour scheme that the bride had picked out was absolutely stunning and she looked gorgeous. 🙂

  2. You are indeed a lucky duck! I wouldn’t say I hate my in-laws, but it seems like extended family does make both sides of my family fraught these days. My husband’s sister and her spouse are incredibly conservative Christians who like to talk about how ‘blessed’ they are all the time, add Jesus into every discussion, even of, say, what kind of dog they ended up buying (they prayed and Jesus told them). And their child, raised in that environment, tells my kid that Halloween is a celebration of Satan and that Harry Potter is of the Devil, and prays for gay people to be ‘cured’ and other stuff that upsets my child and makes my child worry unnecessarily. So, that’s one side of the family.

    [For the record, I’ve got no problem with Christianity, Christians, or Jesus, but I believe that those who talk about it this much, and instill fear like that into their children, are not what Jesus would’ve wanted in a follower, and that they actually make him incredibly sad, and those people probably need more ‘saving’ than the average, run of the mill, non-Christian.]

    On the other side, my brother’s wife’s brother (follow that?) has a (9yo) kid that is a total brat to my child, picking on her, ganging up on her, leaving her out of the other kid’s activities, and basically making every family event with that side end up with my (6yo) child in miserable tears. This particular kid’s parents *do nothing* but cluck their tongue and say, “I’m so sorry, Leta,” when my daughter ends up in tears, but never actually address the topic with their own daughter who is the cause of the hurt feelings and misery.

    So, I don’t dislike my in-laws, but there are dynamics with some extended family that makes all big events like Easter or Christmas or what have you kind of difficult for everyone involved.

    I seriously envy you that you don’t have these kinds of problems. 🙂 Lucky duck!!

    • You definitely have my sympathy. Parents need to say, ‘no’ once in a while. A child needs boundaries. That little girl will have a whole heap of trouble later in life if she keeps getting her way all the time without consequences for bad behaviour. As for the other side, I agree with you. It’s lovely that they have found Jesus and that they are religious people, but they don’t have to throw it in people’s faces and make them miserable. To me, a good Christian person should be making others feel good and they should be helpful and charitable no matter what that other person’s beliefs are. I am sorry your family events can be so difficult.

  3. I’m lucky to have a family that gets along well. Both sides have a relationship, so its never a chore to visit or come together for holidays. My in-laws have always been very kind to me and that really does make a difference. My poor sister had a horrific mother-in-law when she was married. It created so much tension between her and her husband. I’m thankful I don’t find myself in that situation.

  4. You are most definitely an integral part of this family…especially since you’ve been around for for long lol It was nice to have you join us at the wedding and then to help eat leftovers…though, I still have plenty…unfortunately, some will be going to waste…love you Sue

Leave a Reply

