Tilly Greenway

I’ve just finished reading ‘Watchers‘, the first book in the series ‘Tilly Greenway and the Secrets of the Ancient Keys‘ by Essi Tolling and I must say it was a wild ride! It had everything a lover of YA fantasy might want. Let me tell you a little about it:

Myth and legend come alive in modern-day Great Britain. When disaster strikes London, Tilly Greenway and her brother Zack are evacuated to the countryside where they are contacted by a mysterious man, a Guardian named Ambrose. He tells the children that they must undertake a perilous quest in order to undermine a plot by a secret organization. The Watchers plan to control humanity with technology implanted into every citizen’s brain. An archeologist has uncovered ancient texts, which she shows to the children in the hopes that, together, they can solve an age-old mystery and find the keys to unlock the magic that will save the world. As they attempt to complete their mission, Tilly and Zack discover mythical creatures that assist them on their journey.

Watchers‘ is a fast-paced adventure that pulls the reader along on a fantastic ride through England and Wales, delving into the mysteries of such places as Silbury Hill near Avebury and Stonehenge, Skenfrith Castle and the Chalice Well Gardens, unraveling history to save the future. The author has a wonderful way with words, allowing you to see beauty in all those fascinating historic places. I would highly recommend this exciting first book and I can hardly wait to jump into the next in the series. If you do decide to read ‘Watchers‘, be prepared to meet a dragon or two – and who doesn’t love dragons?

Has anyone else read this book? What did you think of it?

12 comments on “Tilly Greenway

  1. Hi Susan, Thanks very much for the write-up on Tilly’s first adventure. I really appreciate it! Am loving Withershins and will let you know when I’ve finished it (have been unwell this week, so am champing at the bit to get back to it). Am then going give my copy to my daughters so that they can help spread the word in school too. I know they’ll love the history – and the story too! Thanks again for your support. Essi.

    • You are so welcome! I tried posting a review on Amazon, but they told me I had to actually purchase something from them in order to do so. Since I’m not a fan of online buying I haven’t worked up enough courage yet to buy something! I do have a few things I have put in my ‘cart’, now it’s just a matter of praying that my credit card number will be safe in their hands!

      Glad you are enjoying Withershins, but I’m sorry to hear you’ve been sick. Hope you recover quickly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

