Full Plate

Today I had a lot on my plate. I worked all day, which was rather unexpected. A friend had asked me to work for her this afternoon. When I checked Subfinder (the automated substitute program) to find the job number, it said I was booked for the whole day. Thinking I had made a mistake or the woman’s appointment had been changed, I went in this morning. It turns out it was a glitch in the system. She really had intended to book me for just the afternoon. Since it was a system error, I had to stay and help out in one of the classes. This afternoon was Track & Field. It was a little chilly to be out watching the runners but I think my student had fun when it was her turn to run.

When I got home, I had to rush around to tidy up for the company I was expecting after dinner. I took a quick shower, (after running alongside my student, I really needed it!) then headed out to a retirement dinner. That’s where I really had a FULL PLATE!

Doesn’t this look yummy?

We went to Tony Roma’s. Everyone had a great meal. Although they are famous for their ribs, (and I was told by those who had them that they were delicious!) I am partial to seafood rather than beef, so I had the Shrimp and Salmon Piccata baked in a lemon caper wine sauce with rice pilaf & broccoli. It was soooo good! Normally, I can’t finish a restaurant meal and usually come home with a ‘doggy bag’ but tonight I ate the whole plateful. I was hungry!

Afterwards, we invited the retiree and his family back to our place for cake (well, brownies, actually) and ice cream. I was so full from dinner, I decided against stuffing any more food into my stomach for fear I’d be unable to sleep.

All-in-all, with everything I had on my plate today, both literally and figuratively, I was unable to photograph and edit the pictures of the scrapbook pages I made last night, so I can’t show them off. The pull-out section we created for one of the pages was quite complicated. It took longer to make than a normal page. As a result, I was up quite a bit later than I normally would be on a night before working. I am quite wiped, so I’m calling it a night. I’ll post the scrapbook pages tomorrow – with any luck! 🙂

So, how was your day?

12 comments on “Full Plate

  1. It sounds like you had a long full day alright! Brownies for lunch tomorrow? I had swimming and then running around with daughters appointments, lunch at Tim Horton’s with the girls and a trip to Michaels. Right now I am avoiding packing for Guide Camp tomorrow. We are going to the Peace Gardens this time and planting trees.

  2. Well, what a lovely full day you had, I must say that I always find it very rewarding to have lots to do. I’ve got a family weekend coming up but the work will be shared. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

