YA research

Symposium on Manitoba Writing

Now that I’ve caught up with all my emails/blog posts, I’m back to researching local YA fiction and those that write it for the upcoming Symposium of Manitoba Writing, May 9th-12th. As you may recall, I will be a co-panelist for the Symposium, talking and reading about YA fiction over the past 30 years, since The Manitoba Writers’ Guild first opened their doors. If anyone happens to be coming this way later this week, come and join us. My panel will be on Friday at 11:00 am. It should be a lot of fun! Oh, and check out the Symposium links above if you want to find out who else is speaking and discover some of the other exciting activities going on during those 4 days.

In the meantime, I am trying to ferret out the YA authors from a list of Manitoba Fiction Writers for Children and Young People. That means ‘Googling’ authors’ names, checking for the books listed on Amazon to see whether they are for young adults or children and adding names and book titles to my growing list. I now have 42 authors and I’ve only managed to get through to the ‘G’s on the Manitoba Fiction Writers list! Some of the authors I am very familiar with – those I’ve mentioned in previous posts, such as My Teen Fiction Shelves. Others I haven’t heard of before, either because their books are very old, or they only wrote one book that is considered Young Adult. Once I have compiled this particular list, I may have to go on-line and see if there are any Manitobans who have self-published or e-published.

Well, I should get back to my research. I just wanted to let you know what I’ve been up to, today.

If any of you know any Manitoba YA Fiction writers that you think should be on my list, please let me know before Thursday! Thanks! 🙂

6 comments on “YA research

    • It has been a wonderful few days! Thanks for thinking of me! I’m hoping to post about it later in the weekend. It’s getting a little too late to do it now. Hope you have a good weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

