The reveal

Thanks to everyone who played the Love of Reading game. The quote I left at Jenny Keller Ford‘s site and my own post is from Brenda Hasiuk’s novel Where the Rocks Say Your Name from Thistledown Press. According to the publisher’s blurb :

Brenda Hasiuk’s debut novel details eight weeks in the lives of four teens in a hardcore mining town in northern Canada. Ally and Toby, life-long locals, Rina, a Sarajevo refugee, and Adam, the returning urban native warrior get lost in each others’ individual and collective mythologies as they find love, friendship, violence and tragedy in one long, last summer. Unflinchingly honest, and disturbingly poignant, this story captures the displacement of “northerners”, the struggle for identity, and the restlessness of teens in isolated communities. In a place that makes them feel lonely, they try never to be alone; and in lives confounded by rituals and restraints, their search for meaning is illusive. It was Nominated for the 2007 McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award; the Eileen MacTavish Sykes Award; and the Margaret Lawrence Award for Fiction.

Where the Rocks Say Your Name

Brenda Hasiuk’s award-winning short fiction has appeared in numerous literary journals, including The Malahat Review, Prairie Fire, Prism International, and The New Quarterly. In addition, her work has been published in the anthologies Up All Night (Thistledown, 2001) and Kobzar’s Children: A Century of Untold Ukrianian Stories (Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2005).

I haven’t had the chance to read her novel yet, but it’s been sitting on my side table since I picked it up at a book-signing I did with her a few months ago. When I finish reading it, I will post a review. It sounds like an interesting story.

The quote I left at wantoncreation‘s site was this: “As his thoughts came back under control, he could feel entirely new bouts of shock and hysterics about to erupt.”

It was from Nathan Town’s YA novel The Oldest Game In Town. The book’s back blurb reads:

The Oldest Game of All

Eternal and mystic forces have dueled over the millennia, pitting their champions against one another. Now, after so many thousands of years, their conflict comes to a turbulent and explosive end in the most unlikely of places… Unfortunately, Douglas Bower’s parents have left him with a number of responsibilities, and he simply doesn’t have the time for unexplained events, strange murderous visitors, gun-toting zombies, horrifying monsters, or the Fate of All Things. Snuck from the pages of Town’s previous novel Ned Stapleton and the Wrath of the Death Gods, The Oldest Game of All is a roller-coaster fantasy adventure for all ages. Occasionally frightening, and often humorous, this fast-paced story is easily appropriate for young teens and exciting enough for older readers.

I quite enjoyed the adventure. Nathan is from Brandon, Manitoba and many settings in the book reference real places. It always tickles my fancy when I can recognize places in a story I’m reading. Even if you don’t know the town, it’s still an enjoyable read.

For those who quoted in my comments and would like to reveal the sources, please feel free to do so. I’m sure the other readers are interested in the books you’ve kept handy. Again, thanks to all who played our game! 🙂

6 comments on “The reveal

  1. My quote that I put on your page was from the 4th of Spike Milligan’s 7 War Memoirs, “Mussolini: His Part In My Downfall” which I am currently reading, so it was next to my bed where I sat when I wrote that comment. 😛

Leave a Reply

