May the Tweets be with you!

Hello, everyone! Hope all my Canadian friends & family are enjoying this extraordinary Victoria Day! It’s 20 degrees Celsius, here, with full sun – the perfect spring day! Better yet, it’s a HOLIDAY! πŸ™‚

Well, I finally took the plunge and joined up with Twitter. I’ve been told it’s a great way to keep track of other writers, new books on the market, and what’s going on in the world of publishing. Oh, yeah, and it’s a great way to get noticed by other like-minded folks. I kind of thought that’s what blogging would do for me, but as yet I haven’t actually linked up with any kids who have read my books or would be interested in them. Not that all of you haven’t been great. I’ve really enjoyed connecting with so many wonderful talented people. πŸ™‚

With the lack of marketing being provided by publishers, these days, we writers have to do as much as we can to reach our target markets. I was talking with my editor earlier this week and she was praising the benefits of Twitter. Since I value her opinion, I tried it. I’ve noticed that a lot of you bloggers have Twitter buttons on your pages and I have pressed the follow buttons so I can enjoy your wisdom in other ways, too. πŸ™‚

I’d appreciate any advice you can give me regarding this new (to me) social media.

Since you started with Twitter, what advantages have you found about it?Β Any pitfalls I should try to avoid?