Beautiful Blogger, Lovely Blog

Earlier this week, The Other Watson at wantoncreation nominated me for the Beautiful Blogger Award and Rebecca from frifflethoughts (I love the name of her blog!) nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award.

If J. Keller Ford had not already been nominated for the Beautiful Blogger Award, her blog would be on my list, too. Her blog is truly beautiful (it even has dragons!) and Jenny herself is a beautiful person. Click on her name if you want to see her responses to the award and two others that she richly deserves!

Both awards are very pretty and I want to thank them for thinking of me. There have been variations on the rules accompanying the acceptance of the awards. Some have just told 7 random thoughts or insights into their lives, others have discussed what they think is beautiful in the world, as well as the usual nominating other blogs they think fit the bill. I think I’ll try to combine the two – random thoughts about beauty.

1) The media displays society’s ideal of the perfect man (some buff, tanned, musclebound ‘hunk’) and the perfect woman (some anorexic supermodel who needs a ton of make-up to bring out her ‘inner beauty’). What about that ‘inner beauty’? Kindness, compassion, sensitivity, loving disposition, an ‘I’ll do anything for you’ attitude – these constitute a beautiful soul. It doesn’t matter what kind of package it comes in – tall or short, thin, muscular or wide, blonde, brunette, or redhead – it truly is what’s on the inside that counts the most!

2) A child’s laughter is such a beautiful thing. It reflects unfettered joy at life’s little adventures. Whether it’s discovering what’s hiding under the blanket or hearing a grown-up make funny noises for their amusement, their laughter is so contagious, one cannot help but smile at their giggles. Case in point:

3) The sight of a bird in flight against an azure sky is enough to carry my imagination soaring to new heights. I often wonder what it would be like to have the ability to fly wherever the wind carries me. I even dream about flying!

4) The plethora of colour in a perfect garden always reminds me of my grandmothers and my mother. All three women had marvelous green thumbs, unlike myself, who can barely keep a cactus alive – and they don’t need to be watered very often! My father’s mother had a huge yard and was what I always considered to be the perfect English Garden. It was her pride and joy. My mother’s mother had a significantly smaller yard but she tended it with the utmost care. What space she lacked in her yard, she made up for in houseplants. African violets on every window sill and flat surface in her two-story house, including the basement where she had set up a table with grow lights where she nourished the seedlings. My mother planted gardens at our house in the city and our cottage. When she passed away, the gardens went into disarray and made me sad to see them so empty.

5) Walking through a library or bookstore gives me the most wonderful feeling. I love to wander through the aisles, taking my time to read the book spines searching for the perfect book. The smell of the pages, especially a used bookstore, is like no other and no story on any e-reader available can match it.

6) Exploring new spaces and old is so much fun for me. I love to travel, but haven’t been able to do as much as I would like. I started local. You’ve probably heard me rattle on about Lower Fort Garry (a local site) and its history. I’ve visited many other historic sites around the city, which I absolutely adore. I’ve also been to the west coast of Canada, traveling cross-country several times and the beauty of the mountains never fails to amaze this prairie-born girl. The smell of salt air is so much different than the smell of the ‘inland sea’ where our cottage was situated. Taking a ferry across to Vancouver Island is always fun because you never know if you might see whales or seals crossing our path.

7) The joy I feel when I meet like-minded people is very intoxicating. Blogging has been such a wonderful experience because I’ve been able to meet so many interesting people from all over the globe, sharing a love of books & writing, music, the trials & joys of parenthood, and beautiful works of art, not to mention their unique views on the world and how it affects them. It amazes me that today’s technology is able to connect people like this!

There are many other things that I find beautiful, but these will have to do for now. Below is a list of beautiful bloggers and their blogs. They each deserve both awards, but they can choose which one they would like to accept. Please take the time to check them out. 🙂

tracikenworth has a lovely blog, with book reviews guest authors and all kinds of great stuff!

cbwentworth creates wonderful journal pages and her travel pictures a gorgeous!

My First Book enjoys showcasing other writers and has a lovely blog site.

Sky Diaries has a wonderful way of describing moments in her life in such a beautiful way. Her ability for imagery is astounding.

Diane’s Stories Site a beautiful lady with wonderful stories to tell.

greenpawpaw reviews books, movies and much more

Steve at steveweigenstein shares the beauty of the Ozarks.

Laurie at unavoidableawkwardness who shares her love of writing and gives us a taste of her musical favourites.

Essi Tolling who shares the beauty of the woodlands near his home

byroisinhealy who shares beauty tips as well as book & movie reviews and much more.

Rosh Rulez has a very pretty site and is a warm caring person, sharing her experiences in such an open manner.

There are many more I could name but it’s getting late and I really must totter off to bed.

Hope you are all enjoying the weekend! 🙂

15 comments on “Beautiful Blogger, Lovely Blog

  1. I loved the video clip! I’m still smiling, and your choices of beautiful things touched my heart. I love hearing little babies laugh, especially that belly laugh. It’s how I picture angels laughing. Thank you for mentioning me, too. That was sweet!

  2. Thanks for including me! You’ve ticked all the boxes with this post, baby laughter, grandma gardens and travel are definitely what makes the world beautiful! I too have had a roller coaster experience when it comes to keeping cacti alive. Have hope though, my cactus Sheldon and I have had two wonderful years together now! 🙂

  3. I love your list! And the video clip!
    Thank you so much. I wanted to nominate YOU for the Beautiful Blogger Award! Ah, well. I’m going to do that anyway. I’ll put a post up soon. 🙂

  4. Pingback: I’ve been nominated for a Beautiful Blogger Award! « aspirebyroisinhealy

Leave a Reply

