WHEW!

I really hate having dental work done, as some of you may already know from an earlier post, Numb, when I had a broken tooth repaired. Today, I went to an endodontist to get a root canal done on the same tooth after almost 2 months of waiting and expecting the worst. My hubby’s first root canal hurt like the dickens (not exactly his words! lol) because the freezing didn’t take. He said his second one was much better.

From ‘SodaHead’ (click on picture for the link)

The endodontist was someone I hadn’t met before and after Hubby’s first experience, I was worried that the same thing might happen to me. When he first shot the freezing stuff into my cheek & jaw, it didn’t feel quite as complete as when my dentist did it. It didn’t hurt quite as much either, so I was worried that he hadn’t used enough freezing. I mentioned this to him and he gave me a little more.

Well, considering he worked on the tooth for over an hour, it wasn’t all that bad. I was impressed by his manners with his assistant, saying please & thank-you whenever she passed him an instrument. He explained to me what he was about to do and kept asking if anything hurt. I was very impressed. He warned me there might be some pain for a few days, but an analgesic like Tylenol or Advil should do the trick. I can live with that!

So, here I am, back at home. The right side of my mouth is still a little numb, but I haven’t had any trouble talking – not like last time. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see how I feel once all the freezing wears off. I think the worst will be a sore jaw. I have a tendency to be close-mouthed, clamping my teeth together. It’s so bad that I need a night guard, which I actually bit through and a piece broke off! Having my mouth open for such a long time will certainly cause a bit of aching for awhile. All-in-all, though, I am very happy with the way things went! 🙂

Have YOU ever had a bad experience at the dentist?

8 comments on “WHEW!

  1. Well there was the time when I had a wisdom tooth taken out using a hammer and chisel – I am not joking – it was the Middle East – still though a hammer and chisel. Mind you I did go back to work straight after so it can’t have been as bad as it sounds or maybe I’ve blanked the horror 🙂 Anway I do hope that your mouth isn’t too sore and all is soon well.

  2. I’m glad everything went okay. 🙂

    I am absolutely terrified of going to the dentist. Its so bad, I have to listen to a special playlist on my iPod so I don’t panic, (even if its just a cleaning). Two years ago I had to have a root canal and it was horrific because the Novocain stopped working in the middle of it. For some reason, I am now completely immune to Novocain. Luckily, I have an amazing dentist that knows how to deal with my phobia. He knows how to calm me down and doesn’t make me feel stupid for having such an issue.

    • Thanks, Linda. I’ve been taking Advil since dinner time last night. I tried eating then and could barely make it through a few mouthfuls. Today is better though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

