Ah! Blessed silence!

Hubby and I just got back from a social and have decided they are definitely a young people’s activity. For those non-Manitobans who have no idea what a social is, let me explain.

A social is a pre-wedding party, of sorts, that helps to raise money for the couple to help pay for their wedding. A hall is rented and tickets are sold to friends and relatives who want to support them and have a great time. A DJ is hired to play dance music. Alcohol is served. Snack food is set out on the tables.ย A ‘lunch’ is provided around 11:00 p.m. which usually consists of bread, sliced meats, pickles and other condiments as well as veggies and dip Tonight there were also Philipino-style spring rolls, cabbage rolls and other delectibles.

In addition, prizes are usually donated for a silent auction.ย Tonight, they had some super prizes: a Gazebo, a Barbecue, golf clubs & accessories, tools, a winemaking kit, and many other things. Hubby and I won the ‘coffee package’ but had to send it home with the mother of the groom because we walked the couple of blocks to the hall and could not carry the heavy basket of goodies home.

Once patrons arrive at the social, they purchase tickets for drinks, tickets for the silent auction, tickets for a half-and-half draw. All money earned from the sale of these tickets will go to the wedding couple once expenses have been met. Sometimes, the couple’s family members cover the cost of the hall, alcohol and/or DJ, so whatever money comes from the ticket sales goes directly to the wedding duo.

The couple should make a couple of thousand dollars because they had a great crowd and sold a lot of tickets. The only problem for hubby and I is we’re getting far too old for the degree of decibels to which the DJ usually cranks his music. Hence the title of this post. It was such a relief to get out of the hall and experience silence!

Hope you all had a great Saturday!

10 comments on “Ah! Blessed silence!

  1. It sounds like a really lovely idea to help the happy couple to cover the cost of their magic day. It sounds like an old fashioned village social evening from days gone by in UK and it is sad that we have lost the desire and tradition of doing that sort of thing. Mind you I do understand about the loud music, I look forward to a post about the wedding itself – Cheers – Diane

    • Maybe the UK is where the custom started. I had always thought it was a Ukrainian thing, since we had a large influx of people from the Ukraine early in the last century. I haven’t really come across this sort of event mentioned in history books earlier than that, though.

      We only went to the social last night to support the son of our friend’s new wife so probably won’t go to THEIR wedding but we do have a small wedding planned for another young lady for whom we are having a shower this afternoon, so I will probably report on that later this summer. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. That’s an interesting custom, but it sounds like an awful lot of work to me! lol Do you also have wedding showers out your way? Down this way, maybe a month or two before the wedding, we’ll either have a shower (women only) or a Jack n’ Jill (men and women). A shower is more of a luncheon thing and a Jack n’ Jill is a party something like what you described, but the basic idea of both is that people bring presents and/or money for the bride and groom. If the bride and groom have already been living together for a while (as it was with myself and my husband) then the gifts will tend more towards cash to help pay for the wedding. If the couple has yet to move in together/buy a house, the gifts will tend more toward things that they’ll need, such as towels, bedsheets, dishes, and the like.

    In addition to that, people will usually bring a bit of money to the wedding reception/dance. A custom that’s been popping up of late is that wedding couples who don’t necessarily NEED the money will donate any money gifted at the reception to a cause that’s important to them. Since so many people down this way have friends and relatives who have suffered with cancer, it’s become very common for the bride and groom to donate their reception money to cancer research.

    I don’t know why I’m informing you of all this. lol I just find different customs in different areas interesting. ^_^

    • I like the idea of donating money that they don’t need!

      We also have showers for our brides-to-be and I have been to a few Jack-and-Jill showers, too. As a matter of fact, I am attending a shower this afternoon for a different bride-to-be. Spring seems to be a busy time for this sort of activity!

      As for socials being a lot of work – you bet it is! My daughter had one before she got married a couple of years ago. Trying to get everything organized can be a nightmare, but my daughter did get quite a bit (I think it was close to $3, ooo) to go towards the fence they wanted to install. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Bob and I got free tickets to the circus last night and took the 6 and 3 year old grand-kids. We had a great time but was not exactly blessed silence in there either. Especially when the rain storm came down!

    I have no idea how people scare up such amazing prizes for the socials now a days. Congrats on your heavy win.

    • Yes, I imagine the circus would not have been a quiet place! I’m sure it was fun for the kids, though. I remember taking our kids to them when they were about that age. Did you get wet when it rained? I’m glad the downpour happened while we were still inside at the social & not when we were walking home.

      As for the prizes, I have no idea where they got such huge ones unless some family member bought and donated some of the stuff. It is getting harder and harder to get businesses to donate anything more than small gift cards, these days.

  4. That’s a great custom. I have to say, I don’t think anyone I know down here is familiar with it, but it might be worth introducing it to some couples-to-be I kniw that could stand a little help. Thanks!

    • You’re welcome! Apparently socials are strictly a ‘Manitoba thing’. No other Canadians have such a creature and always look at you sideways when you mention them – unless they’ve spent time here! I imagine it’s the same south of the border, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I can completely sympathise, I used to love going out ‘clubbing’ (do they even still call it that?). That weird sensation the next day when you *still* can’t hear properly. These days, while I’m always up for the xmas party I can’t be bothered with it all, too noisy, too difficult to make yourself heard. And what a great custom, we should adopt that in the UK (preferably before my daughter reaches marriage age, although she is only 7 at the moment ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    • According to another Brit, it used to be a custom but it’s been discontinued, for whatever reason. Maybe it’s up to you to reacquaint family & friends with this custom when the time comes! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

