Crafty Wednesday

Well, it’s Crafty Wednesday again, but not just any Crafty Wednesday – it’s the 4th of July, so hope all my American friends are having a great holiday!

As I look at my list of birthdays and anniversaries coming up, I’m feeling a little overwhelmed. Our HUGE family gathering is coming up in a month and I will have to have over 30 cards made, so I will have lots to show you over the next little while!

Today, we’ll start with this card for a woman who loves spending time at her cottage. I started with a piece of pale blue card stock, 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ and folded it in half. I cut a piece from some cloud-design printer paper that was 1 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ for the sky. I cut a piece of blue paper 2 1/2″ x 5 1/2″, then cut a wavy edge on one of the long sides. I cut a piece of light brown card stock 1 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ and covered one side with a same-sized piece of Sookwang double-sided tape. I took off the backing, leaving the tacky side exposed, then sprinkled yellow glitter onto it, rubbing it all around until there was no sticky places left and the piece was covered in glitter. I then shook off the excess glitter and attached it to the bottom of the card front with double-sided tape. I attached the sky piece with a glue runner.

I embossed the middle blue piece using a hand-embossing tool and the Sizzix embossing plate entitled ‘Distressed‘. As you can see, the blue tool has three small ball bearing things on the bottom. I put the paper on the embossing plate and rubbed it with the tool in a circular motion so that a rippled effect was created on the paper. I lightly brushed on silver ink with a sponge (one of those triangular spongy make-up applicators). Now the paper looks like water. 🙂

I used the Close To My Heart stamp set from the ‘Footloose’ Workshop on the Go package to make the embellishments. ‘PARADISE’ was stamped with Versa Mark onto white card stock, heat embossed using black embossing powder and carefully cut out. The sand dollar was stamped with brown ink onto sand-coloured paper and cut out. The shell was stamped with the same brown ink onto white card stock and cut out. The fish was stamped with olive-coloured ink onto white card stock and cut out. In order for it to look like the fish was jumping out of the water, I cut a slit in the blue paper with an X-acto knife, slipped the fish partway through then taped it on the back so it would not slip out. I then attached the entire ‘lake’ onto the card, overlapping the ‘sand’, using double-sided tape. For the flying goose, I used the stamp from the CTMH ‘Brave Adventure’ stamp set – black ink on white card stock and cut it out, attaching it to the ‘sky’ with sticky dots. I attached both the shell and the sand dollar to the ‘sand’ using large raised Glue Dots.

Next, comes the card for the ex-biker. No, he wasn’t in a gang. He’s my hubby’s longest and best friend. He was also the best man at our wedding. Both he and Hubby used to ride motorcycles so I thought it would be fun to use my CTMH ‘Born To Ride’ stamp set.

Grace’s Frame embossing folder for the Cuttlebug

I started by cutting dark green card stock 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ and folding it in half. I cut a piece of lighter green paper 5″ x 3 3/4″. I embossed the green paper by placing it in the ‘Grace’s Frame‘ embossing folder and running it through my Cuttlebug. I then attached it to the centre of the card with a glue runner. I cut a piece of yellow card stock with my 3 1/2″ (diagonal) scalloped square punch and attached it to the centre of the card with a glue runner.

The motorcycle was first stamped with Versa Mark and then heat embossed with black embossing powder. For the ‘Feel the WInd’ and flames I used Copper-coloured embossing powder. I then used my yellow shiny paint to add more colour to the flames.

My next project is for Best Man’s Wife. Both He and She will be celebrating their birthdays on the coming weekend. His birthday was actually the day before Grandson’s birthday and his Wife’s is next week. Since they’re so close together, they usually celebrate them both at the same time. Anyway, I started Her card by cutting a piece of burgundy card stock 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ and folded it in half.

I embossed it using the Big Shot’s edging embossing folder. I then did the same to the bottom of a 5 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ white piece of card stock using the same folder. Then I cut around the edge of the design and trimmed the white card stock by about 1/4″ on each side and 1/2″ on the top. I cut a ribbon to fit one edge of the white card stock and attached it with double-sided tape. On the right-hand side, I used the chrysanthemum from the Stampin’ UpConfucious‘ stamp set, stamping the pattern right onto the white card stock with black ink. I painted the flowers with my shiny paints to give it a sheen. (No, not a Charlie Sheen!)

I stamped the dragonfly from the same set, but used the same brown ink from the beach card . I used SU‘s ‘Happy Birthday’ wood stamp to create the sentiment. I stamped it first with the Versa Mark sticky pad and heat embossed it using black embossing powder. I dug into my supply of coloured ‘jewels’ and found 7 purple ones, which I glued into the swirls of the happy birthday sentiment.

Well, that about does it for this afternoon. Now, it’s time to make dinner!

10 comments on “Crafty Wednesday

    • Why, thank-you! 🙂

      When I first started dating Hubby, he drove a 500 Honda that scared me half to death! I was so glad when he sold it, but not the reason why – he broke both ankles and was worried about re-breaking them. 😦

  1. As an ex Biker myself I love the bike card of course but the one with the beach scene has to be my favourite – Hope you had a good celebration on the 4th

Leave a Reply

