Crafty Wednesday

Hello, fellow crafters! Here’s another couple of cards fresh off the presses, so to speak. I might not be as exact with the details, today, as I left my crafting supplies at my sister-in-law’s, and my memory isn’t that great! I plan to go back to her place tomorrow and get more cards done, so I will make a note of the things I forgot today and maybe add them in later.

The first is obviously a birthday card. I started with a white card stock base (8-1/2″ x 5-1/2″ folded in half). I cut yellow card stock to 5″ x 3-3/4″ and trimmed the corners with a corner punch. I wrapped green cord three times around the centre of the card and tied it at the back. The scroll patterns are from the Close To My Heart set, Love Life. The large one was embossed with green embossing powder and green sparkles (I sometimes mix the solid embossing powders with glitter) on white card stock and cut out with precision scissors (really sharp pointy ones!) The Happy Birthday (from Stampin’ Up) and small swirl were stamped with green ink (I think it was CTMH’s Olive shade), as were the stars which were from the Love Life CTMH set. I cut out the ‘Happy Birthday’ using a 2″ paper punch and attached it to the upper left-hand corner. To the large swirl I attached 3-D squares and attached it diagonally across the page.

On the inside, I continued the stars, adding them randomly along the top half of the card, interspersing them with other small stars. The Swirls are also from the Love Life set. The ‘Celebrate You’ stamp is from the ‘b is for birthday’ set by Stampin’ Up. I cut it out with my 2″ punch. Using my 2-1/2″ scalloped circle punch to cut out the yellow scalloped circle on which I stuck the ‘Celebrate You’ circle. I attached them to the centre of the card.

 

 

 

 

 

Now, on to the anniversary card. I used the other half of the card stock from which I cut out the first card for the base. I cut a piece of wine-coloured card stock, then punched out the scalloped edge with an edge punch. I used my 2-1/2″ scalloped circle punch to create the centre design and attached it to the front of the card. I stamped the ‘Love’ (I can’t remember which set it came from) in the centre of the scalloped circle and added the two little hearts (from the Love Life set). I attached a gold/silver bow to the right-hand side with 3D double-sided tape. I stamped the hearts on white card stock and cut them out. I added heart-shaped jewel to the largest heart on the stamped hearts and attached both large hearts to the left-hand side of the card with 3D tape.

Inside, I used the punched-out scalloped circle from the piece I used on the front of the card. I stamped the heart (from CTMH’s Roxie Workshop-On-The-Go set. I typed out the sentiment using MS Word and  added one silver and one gold heart beside the word. I cut it out, then cut out a piece of wine-coloured card stock 1/4″ bigger, on all sides, than the sentiment. I stamped the ‘Happy Anniversary’ (using a Stampin’ Up stamp) onto white card stock and cut it out carefully, attaching it to the card with a glue runner. I attached one large gold brad and two small silver brads to the right-hand side of the card.

And there you have it – two more card to add to my stash, awaiting the family gathering. Only 30 more to go!

Happy crafting, everyone!

10 comments on “Crafty Wednesday

  1. The thing that always impresses me about your craft work is how very precise and neat it is, I am a bit slap dash – however you did inspire me I made my husbands birthday card. Okay all I did was make a background of a room in Publisher and then used a stick on set with the most adorable cat in a basket, his bowl and his play frame set as a scene but I was happy with it and as a cat lover my husband liked it very much. A long way from your work but as it’s ages since I did any I was happy with my efforts.
    thanks for the inspiration
    Diane

  2. Wow! Your cards are so attractive. I have a friend who does this as well and I’m always impressed.

  3. Its nice to see that hand made cards still exist in this world where everything is available on the internet now. Looking at how easily you made these cards, it’s time I start doing them too! 🙂

    • Thank you! They may look easy but each one takes at least an hour for me to decide what materials I’m going to use and the style I want to make for the recipient and what embellishments to add, not to mention the time it takes to stamp, cut, paint, &/or glue each part. While each card may look similar, each one is unique. That said, I do enjoy working with paper, ribbon and buttons etc and seeing if the finished product matches the vision in my head. 🙂

Leave a Reply

