Sunday Interview #9

Hi, Everyone! Today, I am featuring a young lady who has just started blogging. She’s an avid YA reader and writer and believes ‘aliens are real’ (and so do I! lol). Please welcome Ravena Guron from the UK.

Hi, Ravena! As an introduction, please tell us a little bit about yourself.

Well, I hail from London. I’ve never met the Queen, and I’m fairly sure my teachers are out to get me. I don’t have a Saturday job because no one would take me (and I wasn’t bothered to go out and look for one.) So I’m pretty much your average teenager.


You sound very much like my son! 🙂

Being a teen, you are uniquely qualified to talk about writing aimed at a YA audience. Please tell us some of your thoughts on the subject of YA fiction.

It’s awesome. I think it’s the best type of fiction out there (not that I’m biased at all.) I’m really proud that it’s booming right now because it proves teenagers do read. It’s like being a baby compared to adult fiction. I also think the best is yet to come.

As a YA reader, what genres do you prefer to settle into a comfy chair with?

Supernatural, dystopian, fantasy, science fiction… I could go on. As long as it’s a good book, I could read any genre.


Not only are you a reader of YA, I understand you have a novel in the making. What prompted you to start writing it and how long has it taken you to get to this point?

I have no idea why I started writing it. I remember being eight and writing the first awful chapter, and not caring whether it was any good or not because I wanted to be just like the authors I spent most days reading. Then twenty pages in I started again. And again. Then I changed huge parts of the story line and tried again. And again. So it has taken me years to get to where I am today – nowhere near finishing. But at least I’m now editing a completed manuscript.



Good for you! You sound determined to make it work!

What has your writing process been like, so far? Do you write at the same time every day, or just when the muse moves you? Do you have a particular spot where you like to write? Do you have a particular method of writing – by hand with pen or pencil, by computer?

I tend to write in the evenings if it is a school day (so most of the time, sadly.) I try to write everyday, unless I have a major exam or I’ve heard rumours that the world is coming to an end, in which case I tend to wander aimlessly around the streets, warning people of our impending doom. I type much faster than I’m able to write, so I prefer using a computer, with music blaring in the background.



Once your novel is finished, what are your plans for it? Do you think you will attempt the traditional publishing route or self-publish? Why?

Oh, definitely traditional publishing. I don’t know a thing about self-publishing and the thought of it scares me a little. I’d have to do everything, even things like design a cover… and I’m not creative like that. At all. 




Do you have someone who you trust to critique it and help you prepare it for the market?

I have three amazing beta partners who I found through Nathan Bransford’s forums, which is home to a really nice bunch of people. I’d recommend checking it out and his blog if you haven’t already.



What inspired you to start blogging and what sorts of things can we expect to read on it in the future?

I wanted to connect with the world. I had a whole load of random thoughts which I wanted to force onto other people (I mean share. Share.) I’ll be posting about writing, and the writing process and stuff. Yeah. It’ll be funny (or at least I think so. I crack myself up, at the very least.)



I’ve been amused by what I’ve seen on your blog, so far. 🙂

What are your thoughts about blogging, since you started?

It’s great! Everyone has been so welcoming and I feel like I’ve joined an elite group of people I didn’t even knew existed.





Are there any links you would like to share with us? (Facebook, blog, twitter, etc)

My Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ravenakguron

My itty-bitty blog: http://ravenaguron.blogspot.co.uk/

My Twitter account is @RavenaGuron

Is there anything you’d like to add?

For people who write YA, someone once asked me what turns me off in a book. Aside from all the normal stuff, as a YA, it is seriously frustrating for me when all teens are portrayed in a certain way (like drug dealing/ sex loving/ alcohol drinking lunatics.) Sure, there are some teens in the world like that, but there are some that aren’t. Making out that all teens are terribly awful people without a single drop of responsibility will probably make me jump ship faster than you can say “reading rocks.” 

Thank you for your insight into YA and for taking the time to chat with us, today, Ravena! 🙂

Thank you for having me!



To give Ravena a bit of encouragement, or just to drop by to say hello and see what she’s doing, check out her blog. All links are in red, so click away! 🙂

17 comments on “Sunday Interview #9

  1. Ravena, I loved reading about you. I, too, found several of my beta partners through Nathan Bransford’s forum. There is a lot of information readily available there for writers and so many super duper great people willing to help you out. Good luck with your novel.

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed this introduction to Ravena, withershins. I especially like how your humor and personality shine through your sentences–like “or if I’ve heard rumors that the world is coming to an end”…lol! I will go check out your blog. Just to find out if you’ve met the Queen since the interview.

  3. Super interview, I think we need to look to our laurels with writers like Ravena coming along to scream up on the inside curve and overtake, well I for one will be waving her on – Go Ravena

  4. Pingback: Sunday Interview #9 | mywithershins | YAFic | Scoop.it

  5. Up-beat interview, Ravena, with your handle on things and you positive attitude you should succeed in whatever you do. I peeked at your blog … on boys …’I was just shocked that he could read.’… Devastating, I spilled my coffee. Is there any hope for boys?

    • Thank you! I hope your coffee wasn’t too hot! 😀 One of my friends (a boy) told me that he hadn’t read a book since year 5 (so, I think, 4th grade to you.) Another one told me he only reads “good” books, and said that he knows some boys who read more than girls. There is hope (even if haven’t met these rumored readers.)

  6. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

