Love Lists

Elodie at commutinggirl shared a marvelous idea from Stephanie Perkins, who was a guest on Natalie Whipple’s blog regarding the creation of ‘Love Lists‘. Basically what this involves is listing all the things you love about the story you’re writing to help keep you focussed on what is important and what you like about the story, so that when you’re editing, you can throw away all the stuff that didn’t make it on your list. This creates a tighter story. After all, if you only keep the bits you like about your story, the more likely your reader will enjoy it!

After reading these posts, I thought I’d go back through some of my older stories that I haven’t had the gumption to send out into the world, just to see what it is about them that I like. This might help me when writing out query letters, giving me ideas what parts of the stories to push. I have a WIP that I started many years ago and have come to a point where I could end it or continue the story in another book. Some of the things I love about it are:

– mysterious island

– history

– love story

– alien civilizations

– space battle

– alien technology

– world building

– chocolate

– learning to live with a tail (How does THAT one grab you? lol)

With this list in mind, I really should get on with the process of seriously editing it. I’ve got to stop making excuses and start working up a synopsis and query letter, too.

For you writer-types out there, what are YOUR Love Lists? Do you think a list like this will help you focus on what is important to your story?

12 comments on “Love Lists

      • Thought about that. What I come up with is that my novel it’s too multi layered, making it not a clear genre, which is also the story’s charm. Presently writing a sequel, so am not looking back. But I think your idea will work with some short stories in progress.

  1. This is a very good idea. I am not writing any stories/novels right now, but maybe I should think about this with my blog. Sometimes I get too frowny about what ISN’T liked. So, OK, withershins, I LOVE your idea!

  2. Pingback: What I Love About My WIP « C.B. Wentworth

  3. Pingback: What I love about my W.I.P. | J. Keller Ford ~ YA Fantasy Author

Leave a Reply

