Crafty Wednesday

Have I got a treat for you today! If you were expecting more cards, I hate to disappoint you, but you’ll have to wait until next week. Instead, I’d like to give you a taste of Canadian heritage. Yesterday, I went to my favourite historic site, Lower Fort Garry, to get inspired for the writing of my next book and also to get a little footage to put in a book trailer to promote Withershins and Spirit Quest.


One of the activities that I watched and participated in was creating Cattail ducks and dolls, so I thought I’d share it with you. Here is what the finished products look like.

 

 

 

 

 

The instructions for the duck are as follows:

1. Take a long reed from a bullrush or ‘Cattail’.

2. Begin at the thinnest end (looks like a duck’s bill) and tie a loose knot, pressing it so it stays put. That is the duck’s head.

3. About an inch down from the knot, fold the reed so it lies perpendicular away from the duck’s bill.

4. Here’s where I got confused and folded it again so the duck’s beak ended up looking back over its shoulder. What I should have done was simply fold the reed back upon itself about 2-1/2″, then continue to wrap the reed around itself to form the duck’s body.

5. Tie the body with a thin piece of the Cattail reed to hold it in place.

The fun part about the Cattail is that it contains long tubes inside it which makes it buoyant enough to actual float. 🙂

To make the Dolls, here’s a little video with instructions to show you how to do it:

Hope you liked this little trip to the past and learned something about pioneer crafts. Have a great Wednesday! 🙂

14 comments on “Crafty Wednesday

    • I’ll probably be putting a lot more photos on my Withershins FB page. Some of them and some video clips will end up in a trailer. I have a good idea how I want to start, but there are still more demos at the fort that I want to video, that might make it into the trailer, too. 🙂

    • It was great fun! Sitting in the shade at the ‘Aboriginal Camp’ on a scorching summer Tuesday afternoon (I think it was over 30 degrees Celsius/92 degrees Fahrenheit), I enjoyed watching the demonstration and actually making the ducks, which is why I didn’t have video of that. I needed more hands to take the video AND make the duck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

