The Next Big Thing

Hope all you Halloweeners aren’t still suffering from a sugar high, this morning! Was it a busy night for you? We had maybe a quarter of the number of Trick-Or-Treaters come by last night compared to when my kids were little – just a little over 50. Now, I have tons of candy left over because I’m always afraid we’ll run out like the very first Halloween in our house, before we had kids of our own. We had no idea how many kids would actually come knocking at the door! To be truthful, I knew we’d have candy left-over to satisfy my sweet tooth! lol

Well, Scary October is over. NaNoWriMo is just beginning. For those of you who are attempting it this year, I wish you a lot of luck. I’m still not ready to do a big push and start something new or work on my main WIP, yet – still lots of research to do and many unfinished works I probably should work on. I might challenge myself to a daily writing goal, so I’m at least working to finish SOMETHING!

To that end, I have been tagged by Ravena Guron in ‘The Next Big Thing’, where I get to talk about my WIP. Give me a moment while I decide which one I’ll talk about . . . Okay, I’ll talk about the next book of my Red River Adventure series. Last week, I did the ‘Look Challenge‘ on the same piece and wrote a character interview with the lead character and her mother, so I will continue with that theme and answer the questions.

1. What is the working title of your book?

Revolution

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

In keeping with the theme of my previous two books, I wanted my character to meet an important historical figure.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Young Adult Fantasy/Historical Fiction/Time Travel

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Adam Beach as Bear, John Hannah as Ian McNally, Gerard Butler as Duncan MacRae, and Selena Gomez as Kristen

Michelle gives her talisman necklace to her daughter on her 16th birthday.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Kristen Bear attempts the withershins using her mother’s talisman and finds herself immersed in conflict during Louis Riel’s reign as leader of the Provisional Government.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m hoping my current publisher will pick it up when it’s finished.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? May we see an intro?

The first draft is not complete. I’ve only got five chapters written, so far. To see the intro as it stands, check out My Unfinished Work page by clicking the tab above. It will be the first one. I will warn you, if you haven’t read the first two books, the snippet includes info that could be considered spoilers.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Any time travel story will have elements of mine in it, but I just finished reading Mary Harelkin Bishop’s Tunnels of Time, which is a time travel tale set in Moose Jaw, another Canadian city.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Actually, I was the inspiration for the ‘withershins’ part of the story because I tried it as a teen. It came up as a short story idea when my writer’s group and I were brainstorming plots for another chapbook (self-published anthology). Then, when my neighbour started digging into her family tree and uncovered a secret her mom didn’t want her to find, she gave me the plot – the reason Michelle was pulled back in time in the first book. The second book was a continuation with a twist – Owl’s apparent hanging. In the third book, I wanted to showcase Louis Riel. I didn’t want Michelle to try the withershins, but came up with the idea that her daughter should attempt it, instead.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

There will be adventure, of course, as well as a peek at life back in 1869/70, the birth of the province of Manitoba and a candid look at the Métis leader who fought for the rights of his people – Louis Riel. In addition, Kristen will learn more about her heritage and grow to appreciate the times spent with her family.

Instead of naming specific bloggers to nominate, I challenge any of YOU, who have a WIP you’d like to showcase. Simply copy the questions above, answer them on your blog, and send me the link. I will send folks your way by listing those links in upcoming posts. It never hurts to get a little free publicity! 🙂

11 comments on “The Next Big Thing

  1. I love the name of your next project! Oh, and I also love your choice of actors/actresses should it become a movie! I’d watch it for sure! 😀

    The next story sounds fascinating!

    As for trick-or-treating… we got less this year than the years previous. Of course, we live in a townhouse complex, so there are TONS of kids around. We got just over 120 kids this year, but usually we get lots more, so we’ve got a lot of left over candy (what a shame! :P). My boys dressed as Pirates and had a blast running from house to house in the pouring rain. 🙂

    Oh, and I think it’s a great idea to set a daily word goal! Mine is 1,000 words per day, and I find that most of the time I actually reach it. I wish you luck with yours!

  2. Oh wonderful! You interviewed yourself, so we could have a peek into your work-in-progress in between eating leftover Halloween candies. Your book sounds very fascinating and I can see why you might not have time to do NaNoWriMo on top of it. I did that back in 2009 and had a blast, but never went anywhere with the manuscript.

    • I think just accomplishing that monumental challenge is pretty good in itself! Maybe one day you’ll take it off the shelf and determine whether it warrants an edit to prepare it for publication. If you ever need a beta reader or critique partner, I’d be happy to help. 🙂

  3. Oh wow, this sounds interesting! And I’m ashamed to say I haven’t heard of those actors, apart from Selena Gomez, but I think they all sound like they’d be great! That title sounds really sort of…epic-ey 😀

Leave a Reply

