Crafty Wednesday

Still continuing with the Christmas-themed cards, here are another couple using the Sketch Challenge. I’ll quickly run through the basics with you instead of spell out every detail.

The first is a square card using red card stock for the base. It is a very simple design using a large scalloped square over a patterned front, a ‘ribbon’ of sorts, buttons, a main element and a sentiment. If one was really ambitious, they could add stitching around the edge of the scalloped square, either by-hand or using the Sew Easy roller punch to make the holes before stitching.

I started with a cheery red/orange patterned paper with just a hint of green running through it.  I suppose I could have borrowed the Cricut from my sister-in-law to make the scalloped square bigger, but I used the largest punch I had, instead, and although you can’t really see it, I heat embossed a snowflake in the top right-hand corner of it. I used a contrasting green patterned paper for the ‘ribbon’ and found 6 matching green buttons.

I did use my sister-in-law’s Cricut for the snowman, painting the hat and scarf with my shiny paints and using a felt marker for the face and mitten. I used small punches to make the bow with holly embellishment for the simple sentiment, which was stamped with Versa Mark and heat embossed with black embossing powder.

On the inside I stamped the sentiment onto the same cream-coloured card stock as on the front, using a black ink pad and trimming the corners with a corner punch. I reversed the colours, using the green underneath the red/orange, which was cut using the 3″ scalloped square punch. I added the snowflake sequin as a finishing touch, reflecting the nearly invisible snowflake on the front.

For the second card, they ran out of copies so I very quickly copied the example that was hung up on the wall. Basically, the sketch called for 4 squares on the right-hand side, three main elements along the bottom with a sentiment in the top left-hand corner. This time, stitching along the outer edges was a requirement in order to qualify.

Here is my version, using Cricut-cut ‘gingerbread men’. While I was strolling around the ‘store’ that was set up in the hall, I noticed the very cute gingerbread man paper and used that as my background. Using the Sew Easy roller, I punched the stitch holes around the outside and wove red embroidery cotton through the holes. I cut out four plain green squares with my paper cutter. The sentiment was first stamped with Versa Mark and sprinkled with embossing powder, which was then heated until glossy.

There was a bit of a problem with the gingerbread men, since I am not too familiar with all the function buttons. The men came out in two pieces the main body as well as an outline strip. I simply used black marker on the outline and placed it back around the men, gluing both pieces onto card stock and recutting them with scissors.

I used something EXTRA SPECIAL my sister-in-law had brought with her and she wanted me to try it – gingerbread-scented embossing powder! I placed the men onto my Versa Mark pad to get sticky, sprinkled them with the powder and set it with the heat tool to create the shiny – and smelly – effect on the men. Now they are ‘Scratch-and-Sniff’ and smell like real gingerbread! The final touch was adding small coloured ‘jewels’ for the features. This one will definitely go to one of the younger nieces or nephews, this Christmas.

Had you ever heard of scented embossing powders before today? I thought they were pretty cool; what about you? 🙂

16 comments on “Crafty Wednesday

  1. Scratch and sniff Gingerbread men – how wonderful and I do love buttons used as decorations. More lovely cards – thanks for sharing them with us. – Diane

    • I didn’t, either, until my sister-in-law showed it to me. She makes frequent trips down to Fargo. Apparently they have a fantastic craft store there. I think that’s where she got it. 🙂

  2. Scented embossing powders? I’ve never heard of those, but it doesn’t surprise me someone thought of it. Sounds like a nice touch!

  3. I especially enjoy the card with the snowman and buttons. You put so much work into each of your cards, don’t you? People on the receiving end of your cards must feel your love and spirit and attention. So much better than Hallmark!

Leave a Reply

