Crafty Wednesday

I took an extended holiday last week. I started a Crafty Wednesday post but decided you’d probably had enough of Christmas cards, but this one is a little different. I thought I’d share a card I made for my brother-in-law, the one who was in a fire (see previous post). He wanted to send a suitable thank-you to the doctors and staff at the hospital where the majority of his surgeries took place. It was there that he received his many skin grafts and healed well enough to be moved to his home town.

He is now staying with Hubby and I while he receives physiotherapy and medical care at the local hospital. His hands are still the most affected of the burned areas, so he requires assistance with many things, but he is fiercely independent and tries to do as much as he can on his own.

Anyway, he wanted a card that the staff would recognize as coming from him. He had told them how he would often play Santa Claus at our family gatherings, the reason he was sad that they had to shave off his beard, which was always perfect for his role as Kris Kringle.

To make the thank-you card, I started with plain white card stock (8-1/2″ x 11″) folded in half. The cream background is a diamond-shaped embossed ColorCore Cardstock from Tim Holtz‘s Core’dinations ‘Timeless Collection’ cut an inch smaller than the base card size (7-1/2″ x 4-1/2″). The sentiment was from Close To My Heart‘s ‘Thoughtful Tidings’ clear stamp set, using Versa Mark and black heat-emboss powder. The graphics from my Printmaster Gold program had just the right pictures, which I fused together to create the perfect image for the front of the card – a Santa Claus obviously resting after a busy night and a man with an IV bottle lying in a hospital bed. I physically cut and pasted the pieces I needed, adding a yellow gingham ‘blanket’ to hide some of the ‘surgeries’. Here is the end result:

Leo's front

I think we created something that will give the staff a chuckle. What do you think? 

10 comments on “Crafty Wednesday

    • Thanks for the good wishes, Diane. While he was in the other hospital, they had to keep his skin shaven so that it wouldn’t get infected. Now that it’s healed, his beard has started to grow back and should be perfect by next Christmas! 🙂

  1. The card is great!

    I’m glad to hear that he is well enough to be out of the hospital. It’s very nice of you to have him live with you while he is recovering! I hope the physiotherapy and the rest of the healing process goes smoothly. Sending you all happy thoughts 🙂

Leave a Reply

