Awards! (and Crafty Wednesday)

J. Keller Ford has passed along 4 awards that she herself received. As usual, I am very honoured to be chosen to receive them. Thank you, Jenny! I will pass them on after  telling some random things about myself.

This award I got before Christmas, so this makes 4 stars I’ve earned out of the possible 6:

Screen Shot 2012-12-31 at 11.11.32 PM

This one is very pretty:http://lorischulz.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/screen-shot-2012-12-31-at-11-10-56-pm.png?w=203&h=143

and this one is ‘lovely’:Screen Shot 2012-12-31 at 11.10.21 PM

tellme_award

The one above seems to require me to tell some facts that my readers may not know, yet (and that my blog is ‘great’). Since I got a few awards in 2012, that could be rather hard. Let me see…

1. Next to card-making, a favourite hobby of mine is putting puzzles together, including 3D puzzles. I have a working puzzle clock in my dining room and a talking puzzle (R2D2) on the wall unit in my living room. The hardest puzzle I ever did was one without flat edges, golf balls and tees on a background of grass. (See below)

2. I like antiques. I can’t afford them but I do have a few lovely pieces passed down from my grandparents and love to watch shows where they feature old things, like Antiques Roadshow and Pawn Stars.

3. I nearly became a widow 3 times. It’s a good thing Hubby has 9 lives like a cat!

4. I am addicted to books and can’t walk into a bookstore without buying at least one book. (This probably comes as no surprise!)

5. I hate housework – I’d much rather be crafting, writing, or reading.

6. I discovered, while vacationing in Florida with my family back in 2000, that I love the thrill of riding roller coasters.

7. I’ve been parasailing (and loved it) even though I am afraid of heights.

I now open up these award to all those who have been loyal followers and all those I follow. Please know that I appreciate each and every one of you who have read, liked, and commented on my blog. Also, I want to offer this to all those blogs that I have been following. I would not be following YOUR blogs if I did not love reading whatever it is you have to say. I consider them all to be ‘great’, ‘lovely’, ‘shiny’, and ‘the best’.

Now, on to the Crafty Wednesday . . .

Above, I mentioned another of my passions. I suppose putting puzzles together has an element of crafting to it, since a lot of the puzzles I’ve made I have also glued together so I could display them on my walls. Here are the ones I mentioned above:

clock

a working clock puzzle

 

The hardest puzzle I've ever made

The hardest puzzle I’ve ever made

R2D2 & the tower from Lord of the Rings

R2D2 & the tower from Lord of the Rings

Here are a few of the shaped puzzles I have done (my favourites – dragons, of course!):

gold dragon

red dragon

 

blue dragon

My latest acquisitions, given to me at Christmas, were a 3D Hobbit village and the tower from Lord of the Rings (above).

Hobbit village front

Hobbit village side

These are only a few from my collection. I hope you liked them. I might post more pictures another time. 🙂

12 comments on “Awards! (and Crafty Wednesday)

    • The tower took about a day and a half (in between making meals, etc) while the village actually took less than a day. The golf balls took almost two weeks because I’d start to go cross-eyed and have to leave it for awhile. 🙂

    • I’ve had to dismantle a few of them. I currently have the Hobbit village on a desk that isn’t being used, at the moment, but will eventually pull it apart and put it back in its box to make another day. That’s the only problem with the 3D puzzles – I only have room for a few to be on display at one time! Mind you, I have a permanent place for R2D2 and occasionally press his buttons to hear him talk, just for fun! The clock will not be dismantled as I need it to tell time when I’m in the dining room! 🙂

  1. Oh, I, too, love puzzles. Or, rather, I did love them. I haven’t done a good one in years. Hmm…I think it’s time to pull out one of those Amazon gift cards I got for Christmas.

    Congrats on the awards, by the way! They are well-deserved!

Leave a Reply

