Crafty Thursday

Sorry, folks! I was too busy playing with Grandson yesterday to post about my crafting over the past week. We had a wonderful time, although the little guy will not sit still for more than a minute – literally! Even when he’s at the table eating, he does not have a motionless moment. I don’t remember my kids being quite that active, but then, I was a lot younger with a lot more energy than I have these days! There were a few extra-cute things he did that I’d like to share before we get on with things. One was the way he used the fireplace bellows as a guitar while he sang along, ‘strumming’ the brass decoration on the front of it. I think we managed to catch him in the act with the video camera, but he’d stop or turn away whenever he saw it in our hands. Another thing was his reaction to the cat’s laser pointer. If we brought the light close to his toes, he’d back away, obviously a little nervous about what the red ‘bug’ might do to his foot! Finally, he got up the nerve to ‘catch’ the dot with his hands. We’d turn off the light and say, “Yay, all gone!” He looked so proud of himself. 🙂

Okay, enough about the Grandson and on with the crafts. 🙂

Next Friday, the Manitoba Writers’ Guild is holding a fundraising event called Words In The Flesh. We’ve lined up a variety of local personalities to come and read for a few minutes. Not anything that the members have written, for the most part, but we’ve come up with a few selected passages that should amuse the audiences, like bits from ‘Fifty Shades of Gray’, children’s books, naughty parts from Carol Shields’ book ‘Larry’s Party’, etc. We also have a band lined up to play during intermission. It’s going to be very entertaining and we hope this event will draw attention to the writing community, maybe getting us a few new members in the process.

So, what does that have to do with today’s craft? Well, I volunteered to make the thank-you cards for the participants, incorporating local scenes into their design. I have made five of them, so far, with another five (at least) to go.

berries at MHV

Picture of rain dripping off berries, taken at the Mennonite Heritage Village

flowers at MHV

Picture of flowers taken at the Mennonite Heritage Village

Big House thank-you

Picture of the Big House at Lower Fort Garry

Skinner's thank-you

Picture of Skinner’s Restaurant at Lockport, Manitoba

St Andrews thank-you

St. Andrew’s Church on the Red River, Manitoba

Inside, I have created the thank-you part . . .

Guild appreciation

. . . and on the back, I have my ‘made by’ tag and identify what the picture is and where it was taken.

made by & photo ID

Each card is unique, as you can see, but they all have a base card of cream card stock. Each card’s dimensions are 5-1/2″ x 4-1/4″. I’ve used one of Cuttlebug‘s Fancy Frames to cut out a section for the photos to peek through. For others I’ve simply cut out a window the size I needed. I’ve embellished some with buttons, ribbon, brick-a-brack, and twine. On one I added a stamped, heat-embossed rose painted with my shiny paints. On another, I stamped flowers and stems, then glued on some Flower Soft flocking. There’s no limit to what can be done, depending on your store of embellishments and paper selections. 🙂

If you happen to be in Winnipeg on Friday, February 1st, around 7 p.m. and would like to join us for our literary event, Words In The Flesh, you can pick up your tickets at the McNally Robinson Booksellers at Grant Park Shopping Centre or contact a member of The Manitoba Writers’ Guild (call me!). We’re hoping it will be successful enough to make this an annual event. 🙂

14 comments on “Crafty Thursday

  1. Your grandson sounds adorable! My kids do that, too, when I pull out the camera. I try to catch them doing something funny or cute and the moment they see the camera they stop. If it’s the video camera they’ll ask me to flip the screen over so they can watch themselves make faces. Needless to say, my home videos lately have consisted of my boys making funny faces.

    The Manitoba Writers’ Guild sounds fun! I’m sure you’ll have a great time! Your cards are great, too. You’re so great at being artistic!

  2. Maybe you should get a security camera. We bought one for mounting in the woods to try and catch some shots of our wildlife – mind you up to now all we have managed is a mouse ( a cute little mouse but a mouse nonetheless ) and a cat !! (not that wild). It was lovely to feel the pride and love shining out of your post about your grandson. We are having our two young gentlemen to stay this weekend.

    Your cards are as always lovely, I so wish that I could attend some of your events, I’m not able to go to anything like that, mainly because of our transient lifestyle but it does sound wonderful.

    Thanks for sharing a) your grandson and b) your lovely craft skills.

  3. Pingback: Crafty Wednesday – more thank-you cards | mywithershins

Leave a Reply

