Crafty Wednesday – a day late, again

Sorry I missed posting this yesterday. I was hoping to get back into the swing of things, as I have a lot of cards to show you from all the ones I made over the past couple of months. However, as I was sorting through the pictures I took of them, I realized there were a few cards I neglected to take pictures of. Oh, well!

I thought I’d clump some of them together that have a similar theme. I chose a bird theme mainly because we’re still waiting for spring to arrive here in the frozen north!

I love that Stampin’ Up has come up with punches that go with some of their stamp sets. I especially like the bird punch that goes with the ‘Language of Friendship’ stamp set. While I didn’t use the stamp set with these cards, I did use the punch, which not only cuts out the bird shape, but also the wing and a branch for it to sit on.

Feb11-2

For this card, I also experimented with Martha Stewart’s stamp-around-the-page set that included this fern pattern. I heat embossed the ‘Happy Birthday’ in the centre and added the bird in the corner, with a flower-patterned ribbon along the bottom. With a small scalloped circle punch, I cut out a frame of music, then cut out a pointed section at the bottom to make it look like a speech bubble. Although it’s a little difficult to see in this shot – you have to click on the picture to enlarge it – I also used my shiny paint set to add copper-coloured ‘feathers’ onto the bird and used a fine-tipped Sharpie for the bird’s eye.

Feb11-1

The bird in the card above was created using my sister-in-law’s stamp and blue heat-emboss powder. The card’s base colour was a 5-1/2″ x 4-1/4″ piece from a wallpaper sample book that looked a little like a wood grain. For the next layer, I cut it an inch smaller in all dimensions out of a green marble-patterned paper to which I added a wavy green velvet ribbon along the bottom. I cut out a 3″ scalloped circle from textured green card stock for the next layer and the smaller scalloped circle was a left-over piece I had cut from another card where I had a sky-patterned piece on top and ‘grass’ below it.

Miranda '12

You may have seen the card above in a previous crafty post, but wanted to show it again because I really love the ‘Find Your Style’ stamp set from Close To My Heart. This card is beautiful in its simplicity. The background was embossed with the Cuttlebug‘s ‘Victoria’ embossing folder. The bird was heat-embossed on white card stock, cut out and placed onto a 3″ scalloped circle. The feathery bits were from a booklet of rub-ons. The ‘soar’ was from the same stamp set as the bird, also heat-embossed in black and cut out with a 1-1/2″ scalloped oval punch. I love the 1″ wide black polka-dotted ribbon accent, too.

Joce '12

The final card is also one you may have seen before, but wanted to showcase Jim Holtz‘s birdcase die cutter that can be used on the Big Shot as well as the Cuttlebug. For the cage, I used a glittery gold card stock. The bird was cut out of brown card stock, using the same die cutter. I added feathers to the bird’s wing and tail for an added touch. I happened to have 1/4″ gold ribbon to tie to the loop at the top of the bird cage and placed the cage, bird included onto blue paper (embossed using the Cuttlebug‘s ‘Swirls’ folder). I hand-cut the ‘tweets’ and used the scalloped oval punch to cut out the ‘for you’.

And there you have it – four bird-themed cards! Hope this post gave you some ideas for making your own bird-themed cards. 🙂

12 comments on “Crafty Wednesday – a day late, again

  1. Very nice I love the copper bird especially. I have a dislike of birds in cages so the last one wasn’t really my thing although I did think how cute it would be if you were to turn the whole thing into a musical box perhaps with a little key or something and then he wouldn’t look “trapped.”

  2. Love the cards! When you mentioned heat embossing it brought me back to my childhood. I used to love doing that with cards when I was little! I had some special powder that we would sprinkle over a stamp, as well, that would bubble and puff when we used a blowdryer to heat it. It was the coolest thing, and lots of fun to be creative with. 🙂 Thank you for sharing! It brought back fond memories.

    • Glad I was able to induce happy memories. 🙂

      Actually, until I started scrapbooking, I’d never heard of embossing powders, so I guess you were a little ahead of me when it comes to crafting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

