C4 Lit Fest – Part 2

my table

About 8:30 Saturday morning, Hubby dropped me off at the Place Louis Riel with all the stuff I’d brought with me to set up in Author Alley. I’d designed a poster board to draw in the crowds. Despite some compliments, I felt it wasn’t quite as professional-looking as some of the others, but it did the job. I made full-size copies of my book covers for the side flaps and added pictures of St. Andrew’s Church, the Big House at Lower Fort Garry and the teepee that sits outside the fort walls.

I brought my laptop and, at first, had my book trailer playing for those who wanted to stop by and look at it, but it’s only a few minutes long and I didn’t know how to put it on a continuous loop so I had to press the ‘play’ button all the time. Since I had my flash drive with all the pics I’d taken of the St. Andrew’s Church and Lower Fort Garry area, I set up a slideshow which could play continually. I also had some music playing in the background; music by ‘ A Celtic Woman’ (beautiful haunting tunes), ‘The Dust Rhinos’ (a local band whose bawdy music sounds a bit Irish), ‘Simpson’s Folly’ (a group that sing songs from pioneer days), ‘Spirit Flutes’ by Tomas Walker, ‘Tribal Voices’ (various Aboriginal artists sing traditional songs), and ‘Speaking Winds’ by David R. Maracle whose song O K A Da was the one I chose for the book trailer, with his permission.

bookmark front

bookmark backI’d also made bookmarks for the occasion and business cards to hand out. I managed to sell six books, mostly Withershins, even though I was giving a deal if they bought both of them: $15 for 1 or both for $25.

 

 

Here are shots of some of the other tables:

Craig Russell's table

author alley

 

 

 

 

 

 

Craig Russell was set up beside me with his book The Black Bottle Man. In the center was a round table for displaying everyone’s wares. In the far corner you’ll see the sign ‘Chapter By Chapter’. That’s the name of a book blog run by a mother/daughter duo. Later this week, they will be reporting on the event and giving away prizes through Rafflecopter, including my books. Once I get the link, I will pass it along so you might have the opportunity of winning a prize! 🙂

Jodi's poster

Also across the room were tables where Jodi Carmichael was selling posters representing her e-book ‘Spaghetti is not a Finger Food (and other life lessons)‘. Proceeds for the sales were going to the Asbergers Foundation. Unfortunately, the hard copy versions of her book were en route and did not get to Winnipeg before the Lit Fest. I’ll be speaking with Jodi at a later date, maybe closer to her official launch in May.

AP Fuchs

A P Fuchs' table

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some of A. P. Fuchs self-published works. He had some fascinating things to say about how he got published during our panel, ‘Self Pubbed vs. Indie vs. Traditional’. I hope he will share some of his knowledge at a later date.

Rhi's banner

Rhiannon Paille was set up near the door and had the most adorable banner made up to display her ‘Ferryman and the Flame‘ series. Isn’t it cute?

Chadwick

In addition, Chadwick Ginther was there with his book Thunder Road. We had a good time discussing ‘Fairytales, Folklore & Myths, Oh My!’ with Kelly Armstrong. It was fascinating to hear how they incorporated various myths into their stories, mostly to do with Norse Gods. I talked about how I worked in native myths and legends in my books, Spirit Quest and Withershins.

Samantha Beiko, author of The Lake in the Library, and Sierra Dean (Secret McQueen series) were there in Author Alley selling their books. I also had the opportunity of speaking with a teen author and her mother, who found a company that would produce her books along with a whole slew of promotional items, like bookmarks, business cards and posters – for a price, of course, but they also provided an editor. I have plans to interview all of the participants and will post their photos then.

Until that time, I hope this display will suffice. 🙂

9 comments on “C4 Lit Fest – Part 2

    • Thanks, Cheri! They were, indeed, bookmarks. I just showed the front and back of them. I also have some with blue on the back instead of pink. And, yes, the slideshow worked much better than trailer idea. 🙂

  1. super pictures – it seems like a really wonderful event and it must have been lovely to be a part of it all. Thanks as always for sharing your literary experiences with us.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Interview – Rhiannon Paille | mywithershins

Leave a Reply

