Crafty Wednesday – some scrappy examples

Hello, Crafty People!

Before we get started, I’d like to WELCOME all my new followers! 🙂

Don’t worry, you don’t have to be crafty to check out some of the things I do here on Wednesdays. Mostly it’s cards, but on occasion, I do display scrapbook pages I have done. It’s all done for fun, so I hope you enjoy what I have to show you. 🙂

Feb22

Let’s start with the card above. It’s colourful and pink but uses up some of those paper scraps you might have been saving. I started with a base of pink card stock (5-1/2″ x 8-1/2″, folded in half). The banners were made with 1″ strips cut various lengths and I snipped the ‘V’ into the one end, and lined them up rather helter-skelter, attaching them with a glue-runner. I tore a white piece of card stock approximately 1-1/2″ wide and stamped the right hand side with ‘Happy Birthday’ (from a Recollections clear stamp set) in purple ink. Before attaching it to the card, I tied a piece of purple and white ribbon into a bow around the card stock strip. I use Sookwang double-sided adhesive tape to adhere the strip across the banners.

Feb12

This second card uses much the same process, except I put it on blue card stock to show you that it can also be appropriate for a boy or a man on you birthday card list. I had some fuzzy ribbon that I adhered to the top of the card to hide the edges of the banners. A while ago I picked up a package of self-adhesive foam birthday shapes, including balloons, so I used three of them, tied white embroidery cotton to them and stuck them on the card. I created a label that was cut and embossed using my Cuttlebug and the Fanciful Labels cut & emboss folder. While still in the folder, I lifted the film covering it and sponged navy ink over the exposed areas. The sentiment (Curvy Verses from Stampin’ Up) was then stamped onto the label. I used 3-D sticky squares to affix the label to the card.

Mar 13

For this masculine card, I started with brown card stock this time (same dimensions as above) for the base of the card. I cut three small squares out of white card stock using my Stampin’ Up Postage Stamp punch. The binoculars, plane, and sentiment were stamped in brown ink. The picture designs were from Stampin’ Up‘s Plane and Simple stamp set. The ‘Happy Birthday’ is also from Stampin’ Up, but it’s a single one I got at some point, probably from a bargain bin, somewhere.

While this card did not use scrap strips, I was able to use some left-over brown card stock, which I cut into squares that were just a bit larger than the stamped squares, about 1/4″ more on all sides.  The contrasting strip behind the squares was cut from a wallpaper sample page. I used a turquoise and brown ribbon to embellish the other half of the card.

And there you have it! Three simple cards using paper scraps you probably had lying around the house. Feel free to use these photos like a Sketch Challenge and design your own cards. If you don’t know what a Sketch Challenge is (or forget), click on the link to bring you back to my post where I talk about the Sketch Challenges I took part in at the Fall Creative Gathering last October, where you don’t have to use the same colours at all or the same stamps or ribbon. Be creative! These are just examples of what you crafty folk can try at home, if you are so inclined.

Even if you don’t make your own cards or scrapbook at all, I hope you liked this post. 🙂

8 comments on “Crafty Wednesday – some scrappy examples

  1. Thanks for stopping by, Diane. Glad you liked the brown one. I tend to prefer the more natural tones and the blue in the brown ribbon is a combination I like to use a lot. The brighter colours are geared more for kids cards, although I do present them to adults, as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

