Crafty Wednesday

Well, looking out the window this morning, I see winter has reasserted itself with another layer of the white stuff covering everything. Hope it’s warmer wherever you are. Okay, enough complaining and on to the cards!

Mar24

Let’s start with this masculine card. The base is brown card stock, cut to 8-1/2″ x 5-1/2″ & folded in half. I used a piece of lined paper and one of the stars print paper, both from Bo Bunny, cut to 2-1/2″ x 3-3/4″ each and taped their backs together with plain cellophane tape. On the lined paper, I stamped “Happy Birthday” and “You’re a star” in brown ink. With the same brown ink, I stamped 2 stars using stamps from Close To My Heart‘s ‘Typeset’ Workshop on the Go set, one on orange card stock, the other on yellow and carefully cut them out. I popped them up off the card using 3D squares. Before attaching the two pieces of patterned paper to the card base, I cut a piece of yellow ribbon 4-1/2″ long. With a piercing tool, I made five holes near the centre of the ribbon and attached small star-shaped brads. Then I attached the ribbon to the seam of the two papers, wrapping the ends around the edge and fastening them securely with Sookwang double-sided tape. The last step was to centre the star/lined paper onto the card base, attaching it all with Sookwang.

April9

This masculine card also has a brown card stock base (8-1/2″ x 5-1/2″, folded in half), as well as a piece of cream-coloured card stock (5″ x 3-3/4″) and paper with a brown and green swirly pattern (4-3/4″ x 3-1/2″). On a separate piece of cream card stock, I stamped “Happy Birthday” and a clock face and hands (from a stamp set by Recollections) using my Versa Mark sticky pad and sprinkling black embossing powder over the image, shaking off the excess. I used my heat tool to set the powder and then cut out both the sentiment and clock face images with my 2″ circle punch. I carefully cut around the clock hands and attached them to the clock face with a small black brad. I used a glue runner to attach the sentiment on the left and pop-up (3D) squares to attach the clock. I centered the patterned paper to the cream card stock and fastened it securely with double-sided tape. Then, I cut a 5-1/2″ long piece of green/brown polka dot ribbon, wrapped it around the patterned & cream-coloured card stock and attached it with Sookwang. Finally, I attached the whole piece onto the card base with Sookwang.

April 8

The last card for today is one of my favourites, to date. It has a red card stock base (same as above), a piece of orange paper cut to 5″ x 3-3/4″ and a sheet of diamond-patterned paper cut to 4-1/2″ x 3-1/4″. In the centre of the patterned paper, I cut out a frame that was 2″ x 1-1/2″. I then cut a piece of cream-coloured card stock that was 2-1/2″ x 1″ as a base for the dragon, which was cross-stitched on plastic canvass by my talented friend, who has so generously cross-stitched numerous card designs for me. I attached the dragon to a sheet of Sookwang and carefully cut around it. Peeling off the backing, I attached it to the small rectangle of cream card stock. Centering the orange paper to the base card, I attached it with glue runner, then attached the patterned paper to the centre of the orange paper, also with glue runner. I centered the cream card stock with the dragon design and attached it with more Sookwang – but I wasn’t done, yet!

I searched Goodreads for a quote about dragons and found the one by Ilona Andrews from her book, Fate’s Edge, that reads: “If the sky could dream, it would dream of dragons.” I printed it onto cream card stock, cut it out and sponged around the edges with orange ink, Then, I attached it with pop-up squares to the top left-hand corner. Inside, I wrote, “Hope your birthday is filled with dreams of dragons.” I gave it to my son-in-law who is a fan of fantasy stories, especially when they involve dragons. I’m sure most of you fall into that category, too! 🙂

Here’s hoping you all have a crafty day and dream of dragons! 🙂

11 comments on “Crafty Wednesday

  1. all three of these are absolutely wonderful. I thought oh I love the first one and then the clock hands move so I like the second one and the kazaam the third one has dragons – all three are my favourites 🙂

    • Thanks, Cheri! My friend found some patterns in a magazine that were designed especially for cards. She asked if I’d be interested and when I gave her a resounding, ‘YES!’ she made up a bunch of them for me. I am supposed to make the cards and let her have half, since she probably spent more time doing the cross-stitch than I would putting them into a card. 🙂

Leave a Reply

