Crafty Wednesday – something for the new neighbours

I will have to make this a quick post, today, as I get to visit with Daughter & Grandson this afternoon and this evening I will be attending the Awards Ceremony for the Winnipeg Free Press Writing Contest winners. I was one of the judges for the short story contest, reading 15 shorts by Senior High students and 21 in the Middle Grade category. It will be nice to meet all the talented contestants. 🙂

I will only be featuring one card, today, one I created for our new neighbours. When we moved into the neighbourhood 33 years ago, the established neighbours made us feel welcome, so I wanted to pass along the tradition and be welcoming to the new homeowners. The previous neighbours, who moved in three years after we did, moved away at the end of April. It was very sad to see them go as we have been friends all this time. We’ve watched each other’s children grow from babies & toddlers to grown-ups & parents. Now, that he has retired, they wanted a place in the country, near water, so he could go fishing and she could commune with nature. They have always loved camping, so this seems like the perfect place for them. As much as I will miss them, I wish them all the best in their new home.

Now, onto the crafting!

CtmH Around the Block

I recently won this Close To My Heart stamp set, called ‘Around The Block’. I thought it would be perfect for the new neighbours’ card. Unfortunately, the card I had in mind was one that opened from the middle of the card. I had planned to have a house on each side, but the house frame that came with the set was a little too wide for the flaps, as were the roof pieces. After two attempts, I finally gave up and made a landscape-oriented card. Instead of using the narrow house frame, I placed the 2 roof stamp pieces on the card where I wanted them to be and, with a pencil, drew straight lines down from the eaves. I then traced the lines with a thin-tipped permanent marker. These lines became the walls, giving a similar effect to what the stamp would have made. I stamped the rooflines onto orange textured card stock and cut them out.

neighbourhood

Each ‘house’ was stamped with the different door and window stamps from the ‘Around The Block’ set and black ink. The second story window is one I drew freehand to match the decor of the rest of the house. Once the house features were inked, I coloured them in using my shiny paints and a fine brush. The stamp set also comes with two different types of brick patterns, so I stamped the house on the left with ‘brick red’ ink and the bricks on the right were done in a sandstone colour. I had a little trouble with the bricks on the right hand side, stamping beyond the wall outline so in order to hide my mistakes, I thought I would cut out leafy pieces with my bird & leaf punch set from Stampin’ Up. I used Sticky Dots to attach them to the sides of the houses.

In order to add a little texture to the ‘garden’, I strung flower beads onto green embroidery thread, knotting each bead so that if the thread broke, all the beads would not slide off it. I pierced the card so I could push the string through to the inside of the card, where I tied a slip knot. Since the new neighbours have a little girl, I thought she might like to use the beads as a bracelet.

I stamped the clouds onto white card stock with pale blue ink, cut them out and placed them along the top of the card. I finally attached each roof with pop-up squares. I stamped the sentiment onto white card stock, cut it out with my paper cutter and ticket-corner punch, attaching it to the centre of the card with pop-up squares, too.

I am quite happy with the result and hope the new neighbours like it. Now, I just have to find the time to do some baking to take over to them, along with the card! 🙂

9 comments on “Crafty Wednesday – something for the new neighbours

  1. How cool that you’re a writing judge! What a great honor. And of course the card is way cool, too. Your neighbors must have been thrilled.

    • I’m ashamed to say, I haven’t given it to them yet. I generally welcome new neighbours with baking and haven’t had time to do that yet.

      And yes, it was very cool to judge the writing of Middle Grade & Senior high students. 🙂

      • Yes, you did say that. I had to come back and read again to see that I’d missed that sentence. Alas. I’m sure they WILL be thrilled. 🙂

Leave a Reply

