Crafty Wednesday – redesigning creative spaces

Sorry I won’t be showcasing my scrapbook cards or pages, today. I am busy trying to re-organize my craft room. It was originally my writing space, but all the paraphernalia I have accumulated to craft different and better cards and pages, completely inundated my writing space. The original computer that I used is no longer functioning. It and the speakers attached to it are taking up valuable shelf space that I can be using for paper storage, among other things. Hubby or Son will have to help me unhook everything and clear it out of the way.

craft room plan

I now use a laptop in the living room, but the space around my recliner is getting cluttered with books and I can’t really concentrate with people coming and going, the TV blaring (Hubby’s getting a little deaf, I fear) and the cat jumping into my lap or curling up in the chair beside me. That is part of the reason I haven’t been able to finish any of my writing projects, I surmise. I also don’t have the space to spread out all the research materials my story requires, without having to put them away whenever visitors come over. I need separate spaces for both activities.

Now that my brother-in-law has vacated our spare room (he now has his own apartment), I can concentrate on re-designing it as a writing space, leaving more space in the crafting room to organize all the stuff that has been stacking up, with no place to put it. It literally looks as though an angry fairy has flown around the room, tossing papers and books and craft supplies all over the place! I’ve taken out some graph paper and, as I did when planning our kitchen renovation, have started plotting out where everything should go.

spare room

That, in itself, is a crafty activity, I suppose. The plans are still pretty rough with no real details, yet, as you can see. I’ll be sure to let you know how it turns out. 🙂

Do any of you have any helpful ideas on what should be in either space?

13 comments on “Crafty Wednesday – redesigning creative spaces

  1. Make it a place that nurtures and makes you want to write/create. I really liked the original book “Where Women Create: Inspiring Work Spaces of Extraordinary Women” by Jo Packham. There is now a magazine by the same name but I don’t like those as well as the book published in 2005.

  2. My craft closet is getting a major overhaul this summer. I’ve been putting it off for months! I have everything in bins and boxes, but I’ve decided I don’t like the layout.

    Good luck as you reorganize! 🙂

  3. Heh, I love your mention of an angry fairy; I feel like that often. Your plans sound exciting, though! I love to reorganize (I’m odd that way). I’m afraid that I don’t have any good pieces of advice, however. I hope you have fun doing it, though! The work will be worth it in the end 🙂

  4. Good luck with the redesign, I’m sure it will be well worth the effort to have your lovely work space. I am also very pleased to hear that your brother in law is well enough to move into his own place.

    • Thanks, Diane! Yes, to show his appreciation for letting him stay with us, he’s invited us for dinner – which he has promised to make for us! He’s come a long way.

      As for my work spaces, I can’t wait to have separate rooms, one to write in and one for my crafts. 🙂

  5. I am planning on redoing my office in the basement. — to make it into a combined study space and craft room!! I look forward to hearing all about your reno plans.
    You deserve comfy spots to do your work in!

Leave a Reply

