Crafty Wednesday – cupcakes

Things are getting hectic again. I’m trying to finish reading A Turn of Light so I can review it and this afternoon I took a Grant Writing Workshop in case I decide to apply for a writing grant in the near future. As a result, my Crafty post is a little late, again.

A few weeks ago, I visited my sister-in-law, who has a small Cricut die-cut machine so I took advantage of it and cut out a bunch of cupcakes which I added to some masculine cards, all with different designs. I hope you will see that a single theme can be as varied as cupcake sprinkles.

cupcake 1

All of the cards had a 5 x 7″ base in cream card stock.Β The first card is a simple design, united with a curved top right-hand corner on all the pieces, punched with a corner punch. With this card, I turned it so it was a portrait-oriented card. I added brown textured card stock as the main background. I used a green card stock behind the blue patterned paper. The central square had spotted beige paper behind a light cream-coloured card stock, on which I added the cupcake and stamped Happy Birthday in black ink. Finally, I glued on chunky coloured sparkles as cupcake sprinkles.

cupcake 3

Card #2 is a landscape-oriented card. I used 5 different patterned papers, four were squares with the centre background piece Β being a long rectangle. Using the Cricut, I also cut out the centre star paper and the lined paper on which I stamped the Happy Birthday greeting. I added striped ribbon to the right-hand side, through the centre of the squares and added two wooden buttons with Glue Dots. The finishing embellishment is the cupcake, cut with the Cricut.

cupcake 2

The first two cupcakes were cut from brown card stock to make them look like chocolate, with the paper cup from striped paper. These next two are vanilla, using white card stock. This time, I used a piece of brown card stock cut 1/2″ smaller than the base card, on which I added 4 strips of patterned paper. Onto that I added a beige rectangle with the bottom corners punched out. I stretched green twine across the top of it, added 2 brown buttons and stamped Happy Birthday in black ink. The cupcake got the same sprinkle treatment as the chocolate ones and I stuck it onto the top left-hand corner with 3D sticky squares.

cupcake 4

The last one is the simplest with a turquoise patterned paper as the background, cut 1/2″ smaller than the base card. Before attaching it to the card, I wrapped red-and-white bakers twine, running it through a fancy brown button and tied it in a bow. I added the same type of Happy Birthday square as the card above along with the cupcake complete with ‘sprinkles’. I also attached a ‘candle’ made with one of the stripes cut out of the cupcake paper. I added a yellow flame for the card-receiver to blow out. πŸ™‚

There you have it, four very different-looking cards with the same theme – using a simple cupcake design. Now, it’s your turn! lol If any of you do decide to make a cupcake card, let me know. I’d love to see your creative ideas. πŸ™‚

10 comments on “Crafty Wednesday – cupcakes

Leave a Reply

