Crafty Wednesday – 1st sketch challenge

I know it’s getting late in the day, but Grandson was visiting until just a few minutes ago. I spent the morning putting things out of reach and grabbing a bite to eat before he and his mom arrived. Then I tried to photoshop my card photos and transfer them onto a flash drive so I could access them with my MAC. Then the old computer refused to work any more, so I was forced to take pictures of the challenge sketches with Photobooth, which is why the writing is backwards. I couldn’t mirror the images. You will have to use your imaginations to flip the images so they match the cards that were made using these sketches.

At my recent Creative Gathering,  we had 6 sketch challenges, 2 on Friday night and 4 on the Saturday. We were given a simple sketch of a card or scrapbook layout and an example of one person’s interpretation of it. Everyone who completed a challenge got a ticket for a draw. Last year I won a beautiful, Bo Bunny, bright pink purse. (Bo Bunny is a brand of specialty craft paper and her distributer donated the purse for the event.) This year I wasn’t so lucky.

I was going to show you the thank-you card and my brother’s birthday card before starting on the Christmas cards, but those photos are stuck on my old computer with no way to access them, right now. It looks as though we’re going to need to get another computer. I just hope we can retrieve all the info on the hard drive.

Photo 13DCIM100SPORT

Anyway, the first card sketch shows a circle with various sized rectangles covering a good portion of it with a sentiment in the bottom right-hand corner (remember the image is reversed in the sketch). Beside the sketch is the example they displayed. Sorry it’s a little blurry. I used the still-photo option of my video camera instead of our good Canon Rebel, but you should get the idea. Rather than try to re-create what’s on the sample, I searched through all the paper, stamps & embellishments I had brought with me to the gathering.

Since I was mainly there to create some Christmas cards, I decided to use the set of Close To My Heart stamps called Polar Bear Holiday. Here are my interpretations:

polar bear skating1 polar bears1

The base card is a 5-1/2″ square (an 8-1/2 x 11″ sheet cut to 5-1/2″ lengthwise and folded in half). I used a light turquoise for the card on the left and a dark teal for the right-hand card. I added a background patterned paper that was 4-1/2″ square. For the pair of bears, I cut a 2-1/2″ circle of teal-coloured card stock with a paper punch. For the skating bear, I used my 3″ scalloped circle punch. It was a matter of guessing what size of rectangles I needed to create the effects, with a variety of patterned papers. I was able to use a lot of scraps, which I had the foresight to bring with me. The sentiments are both from the Polar Bear Holiday set.

As you can see, changing up the paper, sentiment and stamps can make a big difference to the overall look of a card, despite the ‘bones’, which are pretty similar. Hope this gives you ideas for your own cards. Keep in mind, the sketch can incorporate anything you desire. Goodnight! 🙂

11 comments on “Crafty Wednesday – 1st sketch challenge

  1. Lovely cards as always, goodness me with cars playing up and computers letting you down you really are having a time of it aren’t you. I hope you get your pictures back.

Leave a Reply

