Crafty Wednesday – 2nd sketch challenge

Happy Wednesday, Everyone!

Oops! Is it still Wednesday somewhere in the world? No? Sorry about that! I was off and running from the moment I finished my cup of coffee in the morning, yesterday, until I got home. Even though I had prepared this post earlier in the week, I completely forgot to post it. First, I had some shopping to do for this weekend’s family Thanksgiving gatherings – birthday presents & ingredients for the food I’ll be bringing to the events on each side of my family. I got home, had enough time to put things away, then I drove to a writing friend’s home for lunch. She gathered stories for a book she had published called Through the Windows of a Train: A Canadian Railway Anthology. After visiting with her for a good part of the afternoon, I was off and running, again. Home to make dinner & spend a few moments with hubby before I was off to do a reading at McNally Robinson Booksellers for the Chiaroscuro Reading Series. You can find a picture of me reading here. By the time I got home, I was too tired to realize I hadn’t posted this, yet. (Okay, take a breath!)

On with the cards! Today, I will continue with the sketch challenges from my Creative Gathering. Remember, that the actual sketch challenge was a photo taken by my laptop’s Photo Booth program so they are: 1. mirror images of what they should be and 2. aren’t very clear because the flash washed them out a bit.

Photo 12

DCIM100SPORT

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see, the design on the left consists of two blocks of patterned paper separated by a ribbon, or scalloped strip. The original called for circles across the centre of the landscape-oriented card, along with some kind of embellishment and a sentiment. On the right are the two examples they set out for us. It looks like anything goes, so here are my attempts at fulfilling the challenge:

Deck the Halls1

For the first one, I took the original sketch to heart and added the circles, but only 3 instead of 4 and I made them Christmas ornaments. I began with paper from Bo Bunny‘s 6 x 6″ pad called the ‘Rejoice Collection’. Unfortunately, I wasn’t paying close enough attention to the detail on the red patterned paper and placed it upside down!

Instead of a scalloped edge on the plain green center strip, I used my holly edging punch, in keeping with the theme of the card. I then ran my Sew Easy puncher down the opposite edge and ran red embroidery thread though the holes it created. The centre embellishment and the sentiment were both from a stamp set by Close To My Heart called ‘Yuletide Greetings’, to which I added colour with my shiny paints. The ornament designs were from Hero Arts‘ ‘Poly Clear’ Christmas set. I stamped the ornament designs with a Versa Mark sticky pad and sprinkled on green, red & black embossing powders. I then used my heat tool to set the designs.

Gingerbread man1

For the second card, I dispensed with the circles, although I suppose, technically, the shiny dots on the ribbon could serve the same purpose. I used up the rest of the paper from the first card and, this time, I scalloped the edge of holly-patterned paper instead of using my holly punch. I used the Sew Easy device again and wove white embroidery cotton through the holes. I placed a strip of white card stock behind the strip so it would stand out better and fill in any gaps between the striped and patterned papers. For the Gingerbread Man I used one of the stamps in a set called ‘Gingerbread Cookies’ from the Canadian-owned Local King Rubber Stamp company. I first used Versa Mark and then black embossing powder on beige paper and cut him out. I put black jewels for his buttons and eyes, although they don’t really show up in the photo.

Again, although both cards have similarities, they can easily be changed to look very different. 🙂

Well, that concludes my post for today. Now I’m off to finish making cards for those with birthdays in October & November, so I can hand them out at the gatherings this weekend. For all my Canadian friends, I hope you have a fabulous Thanksgiving! 🙂

9 comments on “Crafty Wednesday – 2nd sketch challenge

  1. Holly and ribbons and gingerbread – Oh my. Is it that time of the year already. So, even though you are frantic you are ahead of me, you have some cards!!!

    • Thanks, Kathy! There will be much feasting and gatherings with family this weekend!

      As for the Christmas cards, I usually make 30-40 for friends and family. That’s why I start so early! 🙂

Leave a Reply

