Crafty Wednesday – 3rd Sketch Challenge

Good morning!

Let’s see what the 3rd sketch looks like, shall we? For those who have seen my last two sketch challenges, you will recall that our computer with Photoshop on it is no longer functioning, so the sketch was taken with my MAC’s Photobooth creating a picture that is a mirror image to the original.

Photo 15

DCIM100SPORT

With this challenge, there is a scalloped trim along the left-hand side of this portrait-oriented card. Beside it is an accent piece with rounded corners. A ribbon is wrapped around the top part of the card, behind the image and sentiment. In the bottom right-hand corner are buttons or round embellishments.

Now that you’ve seen the example, here are my interpretations of the challenge:

 

Holly jolly1

Holly jolly2

 

I used a pre-cut red card base, 5″ x 7″, to which I added a plain green background paper cut 4-3/4″ x 6-3/4″, allowing for 1/8″ of the red base to show around it. The blue scalloped strip was cut out using a snowflake edging punch (Martha Stewart brand). In order for the snowflakes to stand out, I added a piece of white card stock behind it and trimmed around the snowflakes’ outer edges. Personally, I think I prefer the darker blue for the snowflake strip. What about you?

I cut a contrasting piece that was 2″ x 5-1/2″ & 2″ x 6″, respectively, and used a curved corner punch to round out the 2 right-hand corners. I then attached both the snowflake and contrasting strips with Sookwang double-sided tape. For the card on the right, I cut the 1/2″ ribbon to stretch the entire width of the solid green background and include a bow (about twice the width, depending on how big you want the bow to be). For the second card, I made a bow about the same size as the other card but only cut a piece of ribbon to show out the side of the sentiment piece. I attached the ribbon with Sookwang and the bow with Zots sticky dots.

Next, I stamped out the sentiment (Close To My Heart‘s Frosted, Workshop on the Go) on white card stock using my Versa Mark sticky pad. I sprinkled on green embossing powder, shaking off the extra, then heating until set. I stamped the holly pattern (CTMH‘s Yuletide Greetings) with black ink and painted it with my shiny paint. I think it would have looked better if I’d used my black embossing powder, instead, so the outline showed up better. I trimmed the sentiment with a paper cutter and cut out the holly with sharp scissors.

I cut out a piece of red card stock of similar colour to the base card (3″ h x 3-3/4″ w & 3-1/2″ w x 3-3/4″ h, respectively). The contrasting holly paper was cut 1/8″ smaller on all sides to allow the red to show behind it. I then added the sentiment and stamped/painted holly bit, using a glue runner for the paper/card stock and glue dots for the holly. This whole rectangle was attached to the card over the ribbon using 3-D double-sided sticky squares. The final touch was adding the buttons with glue dots, white on the left-hand card, green on the right.

And that’s it for another week. Hope I’ve inspired you to start thinking Christmas, which is only 70 days away. Chanukah is only 44 days away! What other winter celebrations do you take part in? Maybe I can come up with cards for those celebrations, too. 🙂

6 comments on “Crafty Wednesday – 3rd Sketch Challenge

  1. Lovely cards, Susan! I particularly like the one on the right – I think the colours (darker blue snowflakes and the green buttons) and spacing make it more appealing. You’re doing some lovely work!

Leave a Reply

