Crafty Wednesday – last of the Sketch Challenges

Hi, Everyone!

I thought I’d finish off the month with the last of the sketch challenge cards I made back in September for my Creative Gathering. It will be a quick and simple post. If anyone wants me to go into more detail about sizes and brand names, etc, let me know. I can always email you the details.

Photo 16

DCIM100SPORT

Let’s start with this sketch with the flags. Cards like these are great for using up all those little scraps of paper you have tucked away with the idea of using them in just such a project. On the right is the example card that uses the flag elements. You’ll notice, there is a ribbon on the left side of this portrait-oriented card with a circular element, a button, and a sentiment.

 

 

Seasons Greetings1

Above is the card I made for this challenge. I left the background red and just added the strips of Christmas-themed paper, cutting the ends into a ‘V’ to resemble a flag or banner. I added the ribbon, flower, & button elements as well as the stamp/embossed sentiment, carefully cutting around the letters before adding it to the card.

DCIM100SPORT

Photo 14

The next, and last challenge, consisted of a block of patterned paper over the base card, a label-type element and four rectangles, along with flowers, a sentiment, and a little bling.

 

 

 

Peace & Joy1

My interpretation of the challenge involved a few snowflakes as well as flowers. To be honest, I think there’s too much going on with this card. I find it much too busy. I may try another one like this to see what I can do to tone down the many different patterns. I think that’s why I made the label white, so the rectangular bits would show up better.

What do YOU think?

4 comments on “Crafty Wednesday – last of the Sketch Challenges

  1. It’s a great way to use up bits and pieces of paper and I suppose someone as hopeless at art and crafts as me could stick some ribbon and coloured flags on backing – I may be tempted …

Leave a Reply

