I am alive (contrary to popular belief!)

I apologize for being rather sporadic with my blog posting lately. I’ve been insanely frustrated with my laptop, which refuses to cooperate. It either heats to the point of burning my legs, or suddenly freezes up for no apparent reason. I also have trouble even getting it started in the morning, often having to reboot it because it freezes halfway through the first loading. I know I have to take it in, but I need help backing things up before I do, so I don’t lose any important information.

Because of this, I can’t be on the machine for very long at a time, so I’ve been off doing more stuff around the house and outside, now that we actually have some warmer weather. I’ve created more than three dozen cards & worked on my daughter’s wedding album, which is almost 4 years overdue. I’ve been visiting with friends and family. I took in a movie (Captain America 2). I am helping to plan a fundraising event for the Stroke Recovery Association of Manitoba and working with my writers group to get our latest anthology (chapbook) published. I’ll talk more about that later during a blog hop in which I will be participating, so keep your eyes peeled for that.

Some of you have been inquiring as to my health, but I assure you, I am fine and I really appreciate your concern. I sincerely regret that, because of my limited time on the computer, I haven’t been able to read all of your wonderful blogs. I definitely have to get my computer fixed (or get a new one!) so I can get back into the on-line world more often. I will sign off for now, but I’ll leave you to ponder why I have this cutie pie in my possession (wink! wink!):

10259759_10152365814644099_1005610268289624199_n-2

Sassy Sasquatch

16 comments on “I am alive (contrary to popular belief!)

  1. Great to see you back and to know that you are well. I back up my stuff onto an external hard drive these days so that I know that whatever happens it is save and secure. I back up my writing onto Dropbox and that automatically copies my pictures etc. I hope you sort out your technology problems soon. 🙂

    • Thanks, Diane! I do back up my documents and photos onto a flash drive, but I have a lot of video clips of my grandson, among other things, that take up a lot of space so I haven’t done that yet. I hope things get sorted out, soon, too. 🙂

  2. Urgh, I hear you about the computer issues! I had serious issues with my laptop too, I eventually fixed it but it took me two weeks of fiddling around with it. But I was worried at points that I’d lose a lot of work and things (I try to back up regularly but often I forget for long periods).
    I also need to go back and read your blog posts over the last couple of months – I’ve been really focused on just writing to get both my normal blog back to normal and also start a second blog, but now both are chugging along I want to get back to reading more blogs too.

    • I haven’t actually written much since Christmas, so there’s not a lot for you to catch up on! I’ve read snippets of yours when they come into my email feed, but haven’t been around to catch up on your new life in Sweden, yet, something I really want to do soon! 🙂

      • Yeah I realised when I looked back you only had a small handful of posts I had missed anyway. I know that feeling though, I felt like that for a lot of last year. I think I just had too much going on really.
        Oddly, I haven’t blogged much on my Swedish life. A few photo posts and one or two written posts but that’s about it. But more will be coming soon. It’s just hard to explore without a steady income, unfortunately. 😛

      • Changing locations, especially as drastic a change as you have made, must be difficult, even when you’re with the person you love. Hope the job situation gets better. 🙂

    • Thanks, Cheri! I think you are probably busier than I am, though! 😉
      It’s my MAC laptop that’s causing me trouble. It’s about 5 years old. I’ve already replaced the battery. My tech-savvy nephew suggested it might be the fan motor that needs cleaning and I’m sure I need to get rid of a lot of junk. I suppose it doesn’t help that I have a LOT of movie files on it, too, mostly of the grandson. 🙂

      • I filled my computer up with mini movie clips of my kids, too. I just got an external hard drive and put it all on there. It freed up a lot of room on my Mac and it started running better (it had gotten really slow for a while about a year ago).

        Yes, I am pretty busy 🙂 Unpacking with four kids is very time consuming. But it doesn’t feel like I’m “doing” a lot because I only really get to unpack one or two boxes peer day (if that).

  3. It’s good to hear from you. Sometimes the off-line time is just as fun (or more) than the on-line time. Wishing you good computer health. It’s frustrating when the darned machines won’t cooperate to our satisfaction.

    • Yes, it is! Hubby won an iPad at a work sponsored poker tournament before Christmas, on which I can access my blog, but its key board is not quite as convenient as the one on my computer and has a few glitches of its own, especially if I try to edit stuff. Ah, well, I hope to get my computer running better soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

